Optical Society and Optical Society of Korea Name Ajoy Ghatak 2020 Sang Soo Lee Award Recipi

The Optical Society and Optical Society of Korea Name Ajoy Ghatak the 2020 Sang Soo Lee Award Recipient

Distinguished Professor honored for pioneering work on fiber optics and education excellence in India

WASHINGTON-The Optical Society (OSA) and the Optical Society of Korea (OSK) are pleased to name Ajoy Ghatak, NASI (The National Academy of Sciences India), Prayagraj, India, the 2020 Sang Soo Lee Award recipient. Ghatak is recognized for his seminal role in the development of fiber optics and guided wave photonics and for pioneering optics education in India.

“Dr. Ghatak is a true innovator who has dedicated his career to the development of optics education in India,” said 2020 OSA President Stephen D. Fantone, founder and president of Optikos Corporation. “The Lee Award is a fitting testament to Ghatak’s passion for optics education and research in fiber optics and quantum mechanics.”

Ajoy Ghatak received his M.Sc. from the Delhi University, India and a Ph.D. from Cornell University, USA. He was a professor at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi, India and is currently the NASI Meghnad Saha Distinguished Professor. He is an OSA Fellow and has received several awards including the OSA Esther Hoffman Beller Medal, the CSIR Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, SPIE Educator award, Optical Society of India Amita De award, and the ICO Galileo award. He was the President of Optical Society of India.

Ghatak nurtured the Fiber Optics Group and master’s program at IIT Delhi. He organized numerous workshops and short courses, and has published extensively in the area of optical waveguides and quantum well structures. Ghatak’s methods have been used by many researchers. He is author and co-author of many books including textbooks on optics (translated to Chinese and Persian), fiber optics and optical electronics.

The Sang Soo Lee Award was established in 2013 to honor Prof. Sang Soo Lee for his pioneering role in establishing optics in the Republic of Korea. It is jointly presented in even years by OSA and Optical Society of Korea (OSK), and is endowed by OSA, OSK, and the family of Sang Soo Lee.

The award recognizes outstanding leadership in founding or growing an optics and photonics community in a specific population, anywhere in the world. It honors individuals who played a key role in a specific region, through research and/or education in optics or photonics, introduction of a new field in optics or photonics, or initiation of an optics and photonics industry.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.