Prize winners have write stuff


Winners of the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing have been revealed.

Authors, poets, their friends and family gathered at the Diamond Valley Library on 28 May for the announcement of the prestigious prize.

The prize is awarded every two years and builds on the Shire’s strong tradition of supporting contemporary Australian writing.

This year, we received a recordbreaking 500 entries from across the country – for both the traditional Fiction / Alan Marshall Short Story Award category and the rotating category, which this year is Poetry, in the Local, Youth and Open sections.

Entries ranged from Haiku to genre-bending science fiction, intimate reflections on human relationships, as well as social and environmentally inspired themes all splendidly narrated in both poetic and fictional forms.

The works were judged by Tim Richards and Bec Kavanah for the Alan Marshall Short Story Prize and Cassandra Atherton and Paul Hetherington for the Poetry Prize.

Nillumbik Mayor Councillor Frances Eyre said the calibre of the works submitted this year was testament to the amazing talent both locally and around the country.

“The authors and poets ran the gamut of experience, from brilliant young emerging authors to really established professional authors,” Cr Eyre said. “Congratulations to all the winners, and to everyone who participated. It has been an honour to be part of this awards program and inspiring to read all the great work.”

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 – Fiction / Alan Marshall Short Story Award

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 – Fiction: Local

Goodbye Stranger Anastasia Warmuth

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 – Fiction: Youth

The Kindergarten Train Eve Ballard

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 / Alan Marshall Short Story Award: Open

The Nightingale Meredith Tucker

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing – Poetry

Poetry Award: Local

First Taste Karen Andrews

Poetry Award: Youth

Dog Brodie Willem van Hasselt

Poetry Award: Open

Fledgling Affair Susanne Kennedy

Mayoral Award

One small step Michelle Wright

Judges Award (Highly Commended) – Alan Marshall Short Story Award

Balladonia Claire Aman

Judges Award (Highly Commended) – Poetry

Opening Our Time Capsules Alicia Sometimes

Colour Is Hay

All the winning works have been published in the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing Anthology.

Read it here(PDF, 531KB) or borrow from the Yarra Plenty Regional Library.

L-R Nillumbik Mayor Frances Eyre with prize winners Anastasia Warmuth, Karen Andrews, Willem van Hasselt, Susanne Kennedy and Michelle Wright.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.