QPS officers and staff members honoured at awards ceremony

Mrs Melissa McMahon MP, Member for Macalister today joined Commissioner Katarina Carroll to recognise many Queensland Police Service (QPS) officers and staff members for their diligent and ethical service.

Mrs McMahon was invited to present two national-level awards approved by the Governor-General of Australia acknowledging contributions to the Service and assisted Commissioner Carroll in presenting various other QPS awards.

Senior Sergeant Elisha Edwards and Senior Constable James Parsons were awarded the National Medal and the National Police Service Medal.

Senior Sergeant Edwards also received her 15-year clasp to the QPS Medal (QPSM).

The QPSM was awarded to Sergeant Emma McAuliffe, Senior Constable Courtney Burchard, Senior Constable Aydin Ozden, Ms Talitha Carter, Ms Michelle Davies, Ms Tanya Donaldson, Mr John Ferguson, Mr James Hinchliffe and Ms Megan Lederhose.

Detective Senior Sergeant Anthony Buxton and Detective Sergeant Ian Wells were awarded the first clasp to the National Medal.

Inspector Craig Rolls received the second clasp to the National Medal.

Acting Deputy Commissioner Brian Codd received his 35-year clasp to the QPSM.

Inspector Grantley Marcus and Ms Cheryl Kelly received their 30-year clasps to the QPSM.

Sergeant Catherine Newman received her 25-year clasp to the QPSM.

Senior Sergeant Leonie Daly, Senior Sergeant Anna Dwyer, Sergeant Marcelle Sannazzaro and Sergeant Michelle Saunderson received their 20-year clasps to the QPSM.

Acting Senior Sergeant Carolyn Hoffmann and Ms Tracy Blair received their 15-year clasps to the QPSM.

Detective Inspector Bruno Asnicar, Senior Sergeant Robert Reid and Senior Constable Deborah McDougall received their Queensland Police Exemplary Conduct Medal with an Investigations Clasp.

Sergeant Kathryn Van Eyk received a Queensland Police Exemplary Conduct Medal with a Specialist Clasp.

Mr Ian Fraser received a Queensland Police Exemplary Conduct Medal with a Legal Clasp.

Superintendent David Tucker, Detective Senior Sergeant Michael Langlois, Ms Kimberley Ashton and Mr Paul Friedman received their Queensland Exemplary Conduct Medal with a Corporate Clasp.

Drum Sergeant Yvonne Coustley received a Queensland Police Exemplary Conduct Medal with a Community Clasp.

Detective Inspector David Scott and Ms Carol McNamara received Queensland Police Meritorious Service Medals.

Inspector Paul Austin and Constable Nicholas Perks received Commissioner Certificates.

Senior Sergeant Warren Flegg won the State Adopt-a-Cop award and the Northern Region Adopt-a-Cop award, Sergeant Cliff Baird won the Southern Region Adopt-a-Cop award, Acting Sergeant Josh White won the Central Region Adopt-a-Cop award, Senior Constable Tracey Clouston won the South Eastern Region Adopt-a-Cop Award and Constable Charisse Marnock was awarded the Brisbane Region Adopt-a-Cop award.

Commissioner Carroll said the accomplishments of the officers and staff members recognised today demonstrated their commitment to not only their jobs but serving the state as a whole.

“I am pleased to see so many outstanding recognitions of members at the ceremony today,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“I recognise and commend the award recipients for their efforts so far, the example that they are setting and the hard work it takes to achieve recognition with these awards.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire community of Queensland.”

/Public Release. View in full here.