Residents urged to nominate a local for ANZAC Awards


Residents of the Northern Grampians Shire are encouraged to nominate a local hero or heroes in the 2020 ANZAC Awards.

The awards recognise the efforts and achievements of everyday Australians who serve their community with compassion and dedication.

Up to seven ANZAC of the Year Awards are presented each year to Australian individuals or groups for compassionate, dedicated, and selfless service to their community.

The winners display ANZAC qualities such as doggedness, tenacity, endurance and constancy to an exceptional degree.

The awards seek to recognise individuals who do not necessarily have a high profile already in the community, but whose unsung work or commitment is truly selfless.

Along with the ANZAC of the year Awards, one ANZAC Peace Prize may also be awarded annually, based on nominations received.

The Peace Prize is designed to recognise an individual or organisation whose sustained efforts have made a significant contribution to international co-operation and goodwill across national and cultural boundaries.

Nominations can be made to the Victorian State Branch of the RSL and may be made by any organisation or individual within the community.

Nominations with citations and references giving full details of the nominees’ service and background should be posted to:

The Chairman of the Committee for the ANZAC Awards


4 Collins Street


Nomination forms can be downloaded here or are available from council’s customer services in Stawell and St Arnaud.

ANZAC Award nomination form(PDF, 104KB)

Nominations close at 4pm on Friday 31 January 2020.

/Public Release. View in full here.