Saint Lucia Signs its First Country Programme Framework for 2022-2027

Alva Romanus Baptiste, Minister for External Affairs, International Trade, Civil Aviation and Diaspora Affairs, and Mr Hua Liu, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, signed Saint Lucia’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2022-2027 on May 12 and May 24 2022, respectively. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Saint Lucia has been an IAEA Member State since 2019. Its 2022-2027 CPF identifies six priority areas:

1. Legislative and Regulatory Framework

2. Human Health and Nutrition

3. Food and Agriculture

4. Radiation Safety and Nuclear Security

5. Energy and Industry

6. Water and Environment

At the CPF-signing ceremony, Deputy Director General Liu was joined by Luis Longoria, Director of the Division for Latin America and the Caribbean; Saul Perez Pijuan, Section Head in the Division; and Saskia Frater-Smith, the IAEA Programme Management Officer responsible for Saint Lucia. (Photo: J.O’Brien/IAEA)

Joining Minister Baptiste are Aisha Baptiste, the National Liaison Officer for Saint Lucia, and Dalia Clement, the country’s National Liaison Assistant. (Photo: J. Vernor/Ministry of External Affairs, International Trade, Civil Aviation and Diaspora Affairs)

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.