State's top educators receive prestigious scholarships


Fourteen of the State's best teachers have been recognised with the prestigious Premier's Teacher Scholarship for their commitment to quality education.

After a two-year pause due to COVID-19, the Premier's Teacher Scholarship program returned, recognising NSW teachers from government and non-government schools and preschools, and teachers at TAFE NSW Institutes.

NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet said the scholarships provide recipients with up to $15,000 to support a five-week study tour.

"These scholarships provide teachers with the unique opportunity to explore their field of expertise by visiting some of Australia's highly acclaimed schools and centres for teaching and learning," Mr Perrottet said.

2023 Premier's Teacher Scholarships and recipients:

Premier's Anika Foundation Youth Depression Awareness Scholarships

  • Brianne Balfoort, Kotara School for Specific Purpose
  • Peter Howes, Murwillumbah Learning Community High School
  • Margaret Tang, Putney Public School
  • Premier's Early Childhood Education Scholarship
  • Susan Paton, Griffith Preschool Kindergarten
  • Premier's Education Perfect Technology in Education Scholarship
  • Joanna Henderson, Murwillumbah Learning Community Primary School
  • Premier's English Teachers Association English Scholarship
  • Ruth Read, Amity College, Prestons
  • Premier's Geography Scholarship
  • Jaye Dunn, Asquith Girls High School
  • Premier's Hicksons Lawyers Health Education and Wellbeing Scholarship
  • Ross Montague, Picnic Point High School
  • Premier's History Teachers Association History Scholarships
  • Rachel Riley, Redlands School, Cremorne
  • Premier's NESA Quality Teaching Scholarship
  • Jenny Perry, Campbelltown Performing Arts High School
  • Premier's Reserve Bank of Australia Economics Scholarship
  • Gavin Brennan, Alpha Omega Senior College, Auburn
  • Premier's Teachers Mutual Bank Aboriginal Education Scholarship
  • Michelle-Gai Brown, Vincentia High School
  • Premier's University of Sydney Mathematics Scholarship
  • Julia Priest, Bilgola Plateau Public School
  • Premier's Vocational Education Scholarships
  • Bernie Maginnity, St John's College, Woodlawn

Get more information on the NSW Premier Teacher Scholarships.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.