Three outstanding contributors recognised with Goulburn Mulwaree Award

Goulburn Mulwaree Council

The first recipients of the Goulburn Mulwaree Award were presented on Saturday morning, at the celebration of the City’s 159th Birthday in Belmore Park.

Beverley McGaw, Margaret O’Neill OAM, Moira McGinity and were recognised for extensive service to the community over a number of decades.

Beverley McGaw has been recognised for her strong commitment to the Windellama community, especially the Rural Fire Brigade. Beverley joined the Rural Fire Brigade as a teenager, and has been an integral member of the brigade for over fifty years. She has also served on the Windellama Public School P&C, and as a member of the tennis club as well as contributing to countless community events.

Margaret O’Neill OAM was recognised for serving 38 years consecutive service within local government. Margaret in particular has been a passionate advocate for sporting organisations and athletes in our region. She established the Ray Harvey Sports Foundation, and is patron for ten organisations. She was NSW longest serving female Councillor in Local Government, and received an Order of Australia in 2016.

Moira McGinity is a highly respected member of the Bungonia community, who has been an integral member of the Bungonia Park Trust, Bungonia District Historical Society and the Bungonia Progress Association among other groups and organisations. She has supported Bungonia’s development and enhancement, and organised a priceless collection of Bungonia’s Colonial history.

The Goulburn Mulwaree Award was initiated by former Mayor Bob Kirk to recognise outstanding service or meritorious achievement by individuals to the community of the Goulburn Mulwaree Local Government area.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year, with the announcement and presentation of the award to be held on the 14th March each year in conjunction with Goulburn’s birthday.

Nominations are assessed by the Mayor, Deputy Mayor as well as five independent community representatives, who will be appointed by Council at the beginning of each Council term. The current community representatives are Danae Vitnell (chairperson), Gary Lourigan, Richard Ernst, Jodie Divall and Sam Rowland.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.