Umpire Panels for 2022-23 season confirmed

Cricket Australia is pleased to announce the Umpire Panels for the 2022-23 summer of cricket.

The National Umpires Panel and Supplementary Umpires Panel oversee a bulk of CA’s professional domestic competitions and contain a wealth of playing and officiating experience.

After receiving the 2021-22 Cricket Australia Umpire Award for his exceptional contributions at both international and domestic level, Phil Gillespie joins CA’s International Umpires Panel.

Gillespie made his Women’s Test debut during the Commonwealth Bank women’s international series between Australia and India in September and earned on-field appointments to both the KFC BBL and Marsh One-Day Cup finals last summer.

Nathan Johnstone and Ben Treloar have been selected to the National Panel for the first time, while Simon Lightbody returns following a previous stint.

Stephen Dionysius and Sharad Patel have both been added to the Supplementary Umpire Panel.

Darren Close and Tony Wilds were not offered contracts for the 2022-23 season.

Peter Roach, Cricket Australia’s Head of Cricket Operations and Scheduling, said the quality of the panels is an endorsement of the outstanding umpiring talent within Australian cricket.

“We’re delighted to confirm our umpires for the upcoming season and congratulate those who have been selected.

“We are very confident the vast experience of the panel members will continue to ensure all our competitions have the best possible level of umpiring.

“On behalf of CA I would like to thank Darren Close and Tony Wilds for their contributions and congratulate them on their many achievements while umpiring at the highest level of cricket in Australia.

“It takes hard work to perform in the umpire pathway and we thank the umpires, the support staff, and the state and territory associations for their ongoing efforts.

“We look forward to continuing our work with this group ahead of what promises to be another exciting summer of cricket.”

2022-23 CA National Umpire Panel

Gerard Abood

Shawn Craig

Greg Davidson

Phil Gillespie

Mike Graham-Smith

Nathan Johnstone

Donovan Koch

Simon Lightbody

Sam Nogajski

Bruce Oxenford

Ben Treloar

Paul Wilson

2022-23 CA Supplementary Umpire Panel

Stephen Dionysius

Sharad Patel

Troy Penman

Claire Polosak

Eloise Sheridan

David Taylor

2022-23 CA International Panel Umpires (nominated to ICC as umpires for Men’s International matches)

Phil Gillespie

Donovan Koch

Sam Nogajski

Paul Wilson

2022-23 International Panel of ICC Development Umpires (nominated to ICC as eligible umpires for Women’s International matches/events)

Claire Polosak

Eloise Sheridan

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.