WA emergency services personnel honoured for excellence

  • Three Australian Fire Service Medals and one Emergency Services Medal awarded
  • Medals acknowledge outstanding efforts in training, safety, and leadership

Four emergency services volunteer and career personnel have been recognised in the 2023 Australia Day Honours List for their extraordinary contributions to community safety.

Three Australian Fire Service Medals and one Emergency Services Medal were awarded across WA, underlining the calibre of personnel throughout the State’s emergency services. 

The AFSM and ESM recognise distinguished service by emergency services staff and volunteers, who have shown exceptional commitment to their role.

Full citations for each recipient can be found on the Governor-General’s website.

2023 Australian Fire Service Medal recipients:

  • Justin Foureur: has been undertaking successful emergency rescues for more than 15 years. In 2010, he was selected to join the Department of Fire and Emergency Services’ Urban Search and Rescue team. He is currently a Senior Firefighter at Welshpool Fire Station.
  • George Grant: joined the Gingin West Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade in 1963, starting a 60-year career in firefighting and using his knowledge to mentor those around him. In June 1987, he was presented with a Commendation for Brave Conduct for rendering assistance to another volunteer firefighter. During his tenure at Gingin, he has held many positions including Captain, Lieutenant, Fire Control Officer and Deputy Bush Fire Control Officer.
  • Peter Thomas: has attended many fire and rescue incidents over his 32 years of service. But it is his work in preparing others for emergency services tasks that has had a resounding impact on many DFES careers. He founded the Emergency Services Cadet Program with Bridgetown Senior High School. As DFES’s Area Manager of the Lower South West, Peter has constructed programs to recruit and improve the skills of volunteers across the region.

2023 Emergency Services Medal recipient:

  • Mr David White: has shown dedication to various leadership and management roles over 37 years, including with the Kalamunda State Emergency Services Unit and Statewide Operational Response Division. David has assisted in rescues during the Moora flood in 1999 and the clean-up after Cyclone Vance in Exmouth later that year, provided logistical support in fighting the 2002 Norseman Wildfires, and helped the Kalbarri area during Cyclone Seroja in 2021. He has also worked with WA Police as an SES Field Search Controller.

As stated by Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson:

“On behalf of the Western Australian community, I would like to congratulate the four Australian Fire Services Medal and Emergency Services Medal recipients.

“These are prestigious honours – the people recognised join an elite group of emergency services personnel.

“Their selfless actions and on-going contributions to improving how we prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from emergencies have made a significant contribution to making Western Australia a safer State.

“Our community wouldn’t be the same without their efforts and they should be incredibly proud of their achievements.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.