WA’s finest schools and staff recognised in education awards

  • WA’s most outstanding schools and staff recognised at 11th WA Education Awards
  • Carine Senior High School tops the winners list with two awards

Students, staff and parents from Carine Senior High School are celebrating this morning after two staff members were announced as winners in this year’s WA Education Awards.

Carine Senior High School principal Damian Shuttleworth and science teacher Daniel Hugo were named WA Secondary Principal of the Year and WA Premier’s Secondary Teacher of the Year respectively.

Mr Shuttleworth has been principal since 2014 – just the fourth in the school’s 44-year history – and under his leadership, the high school was last year awarded WA Secondary School of the Year.

Mr Hugo has more than 30 years of experience as a science teacher and has run a successful Marine and Maritime Technology ATAR course for many years – with the program’s success leading the School Curriculum and Standards Authority to engage Mr Hugo to assist with developing course content.

Anthony Horn, from West Beechboro Primary School, and Rebecca Bope, from Kalgoorlie Primary School, picked up the WA Premier’s Primary Teacher of the Year and Primary Principal of the Year awards respectively.

Barbara Dalgety from Bluff Point Primary School in Geraldton was named WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year, while Warwick Senior High School’s Benjamin Garnaut picked up the WA Beginning Teacher of the Year.

The WA Education Assistant of the Year was Aspiri Primary School’s Tamie Douglas, and the WA School Services Staff Member of the Year was Sally Bradley from Swan View Senior High School.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.