Western Sydney University announces new Deans for Schools of Built Environment, Science and Psychology

Western Sydney University is pleased to announce the appointment of three female senior leaders in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) and health disciplines to newly established Dean roles.

The three appointments are:

  • Professor Kerry London, Dean of School of Built Environment;
  • Professor Eileen McLaughlin, Dean of School of Science; and
  • Professor Tanya Meade, Dean of School of Psychology.

The appointment of these senior leaders means that 8 of the 14 Deans at Western Sydney University will be women from 2020 when the new Schools will be established and operational. Two of the three recently announced Pro Vice-Chancellors for the University’s clusters are also women. Further, more than half – 57 per cent – of our most senior leadership roles at the University will be held by women.

Acting Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Denise Kirkpatrick, said the three new Deans all bring extensive leadership experience to the roles and, in their own unique ways, will make a significant impact on the University’s teaching and research in the STEM and psychology disciplines.

“These appointments are important to the implementation of our new academic structure. Kerry, Eileen and Tanya will provide academic leadership to staff and students, strengthen our curricula and academic programs, as well as consolidate and grow our research and partnerships,” said Professor Kirkpatrick.

“Critically, they will also lead vital disciplines that can help solve some of the most pressing challenges our nation faces. They will make a significant contribution to the economic success, environmental sustainability and social transformation of the Greater Western Sydney region, and the health and wellbeing of our local communities.

“On behalf of the University community, I extend a warm welcome to Kerry, Eileen and Tanya, and congratulate each of them on their appointments. I very much look forward to working with them.”

These appointments build on the University’s successes in addressing gender equality, including receiving the prestigious Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze Award – part of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative – in recognition of its sector-leading programs and initiatives to promote gender equity for staff, particularly in the STEM disciplines.

The University was also ranked number 1 in the world gender equality in the Times Higher Education (THE) Impact Rankings earlier this year.

/Public Release. View in full here.