2021 Australian Biosecurity Awards Nominations Open

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Australians can now nominate individuals and businesses who have made outstanding contributions to the protection of our $66 billion agricultural industries and the health of our animals, plant and people through the 2021 Australian Biosecurity Awards (ABAs).

Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, and Australia’s Director of Biosecurity, Andrew Metcalfe AO, said the ABAs highlighted the important role that everyone plays in keeping Australia safe from biosecurity risks.

“Australia’s strong biosecurity system protects $42 billion in inbound tourism, $53 billion in agricultural exports and 1.6 million Australian jobs across the supply chain,” Mr Metcalfe said.

“It safeguards our human, animal and plant health against potentially devastating exotic pests and diseases like African Swine Fever, foot-and-mouth disease and Khapra beetle among many others.

“That is why it is important to acknowledge and recognise individuals and groups that show a commitment to supporting and promoting Australia’s biosecurity and the systems upholding it.

“There will be eight award categories in the 2021 Australian Biosecurity Awards including the:

  • Dr David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Dr Kim Ritman Award for Science and Innovation
  • Farm Biosecurity Producer of The Year Award – jointly presented with Animal Health Australia and Plant Health Australia.
  • Industry Award
  • Government Award
  • Environmental Biosecurity Award
  • Community Award
  • Education Award

“The winners will be announced at the 2021 Australian Biosecurity Awards dinner.”

Nominations are open until 30 July 2021. For more information on the Australian Biosecurity Awards, including the nomination form, visit: awe.gov.au/ABA

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.