2021 Queensland Clarion Awards

The ABC has 34 finalists across 20 categories in tomorrow night’s MEAA Queensland Clarion Awards, which recognise the State’s most outstanding reporting over the past year.

Categories ABC journalists, teams and technical operators are vying for include Rural Journalism, Radio News Current Affairs, Business, Commentary, Health Reporting, Innovation, TV News Report, Indigenous Issues Reporting and Broadcast Interview.

Michael Atkin, Brisbane-based reporter for 7.30, is a finalist for six awards, individually or as part of a team.

Mark Willacy from the ABC Investigations team is again in the running for the Investigative Journalism award he won in 2020 and in 2019.

The ABC has two of the three finalists in the running for the John Bean Memorial Award for Television Camerawork, which is named in honour of the much loved ABC cinematographer who died in a helicopter crash 10 years ago.

The 2021 Clarion Awards will be presented in Brisbane on Saturday 9 October.

Full list of ABC finalists

All Media categories

Rural Journalism

● Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC News online, “Man-Made Disaster: The Battle For

Bushfire Damages”

● Jemima Burt, ABC Far North, “Weipa under the thumb of Rio Tinto”

● Caitlyn Gribbin, ABC TV Landline, “Getting old in the country: a push for aged care

closer to home”

Health Reporting

● Michael Atkin, ABC News Online and ABC 7.30, “Home Care Desperation – The Long

Wait For Help”

Business Journalism

● Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC online, “Investigating the Sterling New Life Housing

Disaster and Left In Limbo”

Commentary, Analysis, Opinion & Critique

● Peter McCutcheon, ABC News online, “Queensland election politics”

Multicultural Reporting

● Anna Hartley,ABC TV, ABC online and ABC 7pm, “A life lost, a family destroyed and a

mother let down”

● Jessica Rendall, ABC News Online and 7pm TV News, “Migrant Voters”

Indigenous Issues Reporting

● Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC News Online, “Abuse Of Power: Sexual Abuse

Allegations In Youth Detention”

● Marian Faa, ABC 7pm News and ABC online, “Climate change and human rights in the

Torres Strait”

Broadcast Interview

● Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC online, “Aged Care Fallout: Holding the Minister To


Artwork, Cartoon, Illustration or Graphic

● Lewi Hirvela, iview, ABC Weekend Breakfast and ABC News Channel, “Australian

Dinosaurs in 3D”


● Tim Leslie, Simon Elvery, Georgina Piper, Cristen Tilley and Matt Liddy, ABC News

Digital, “Why after a century of talking about climate change, now is the time to act”

● Matt Wordsworth, Rebecca Richardson and Lewi Hirvela, ABC Youtube, “ABC Video

On Demand”

Most Outstanding Final Year Journalism Student – Graduating 2021

● Zoe Coleman, ABC News, “A refugee from Logan holds onto his NBA dream in the face

of COVID-19 travel bans”

● Sarah Richards, ABC Online, “Stories about people with disabilities”

New Journalist of the Year

● Marian Faa, ABC online, “COVID-19 in the Torres Strait”

Print/Text categories

Print/Text Feature Article

● Bridget Judd, ABC News online, “Suicide prevention coverage”

Radio/Audio categories

Radio News Current Affairs

● Rachel Riga, ABC Radio News,”Parents fight for future of Barrett school”

● Josh Robertson, ABC AM, “Cover up in aged care”

● Mark Willacy, ABC AM, “Who Dares Kills”

Television/Audio Visual categories

TV News Report

● Mark Willacy, ABC TV News, “Secrets of War”

TV Current Affairs, Feature, Documentary or Special Broadcast

● Rebecca Armstrong, Angela Leonardi, Quentin McDermott and Helen

Grasswill,ABC Australian Story, “About a Boy”

● Peter McCutcheon, Scott Kyle, Chris Gillette and David McSween, ABC 7.30, “Life

in Limbo”

The John Bean Memorial Award for Television Camerawork

● Nickoles Coleman, ABC News Breakfast, ABC News Channel, “Emergency Flood

Coverage Port Macquarie”

● Scott Kyle, ABC Television, “730 Christmas Island”

Regional and Community categories

Regional And Community Feature Article or Opinion Piece

● Melissa Maykin, ABC News Online and ABC Capricornia Radio, “The devastating grief

of stillbirth”

Regional And Community News Report – Print/Text

● Tobi Loftus, Cristy-Lee Macqueen and Melissa Maddison, ABC Tropical North,

“Valkyrie State School water crisis”

Regional and Community – Broadcast Report

● Marian Faa, ABC 7.30, “Delivering COVID-19 vaccines in the Torres Strait”

● Rachel McGhee, ABC News 7PM TV bulletin, “Golden age of drag”

● Rachel McGhee, Russel Talbot and Inga Stunzner, ABC News 7PM TV bulletin,

“Mine Fight”

Investigative Journalism

● Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC News Online, “Abuse Of Power: Sexual Abuse

Allegations In Youth Detention”

● Mark Willacy and Rory Callinan, ABC News Online, “Who Dares Kills”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.