ATSB welcomes appointment of new Commissioner

Appointment of Ms Catherine Fasso

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) today welcomed the appointment of Ms Catherine Scott as a member of the ATSB Commission, effective from XX September 2020.

Appointed by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development, the Hon Michael McCormack MP, Ms Fasso brings to the ATSB Commission a wealth of experience in the rail industry, including expertise in governance, finance and risk management, and regulatory frameworks.

Ms Fasso is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has held a range of board memberships including the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator, National Heavy Vehicle Regulator and V/Line Passenger Pty Ltd.

The ATSB’s Chief Commissioner, Mr Greg Hood, welcomed the expertise and experience Ms Fasso brings to the Commission.

“I have no doubt Ms Fasso will make a significant contribution to the ATSB’s work of improving transport safety in Australia,” Chief Commissioner Hood said.

“I look forward to working with Ms Fasso as we position the ATSB to support and advance the national transport safety agenda.”

Chief Commissioner Hood also thanked the outgoing Commissioner, Ms Carolyn Walsh for her significant contribution to transport safety during her tenure as the ATSB’s longest-serving Commissioner commencing on 8 March 2010. The Executive and staff also expressed their thanks to Commissioner Walsh for her passion, determination and unwavering commitment towards serving the Bureau’s needs and best interests.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.