CFA heroes receive AFSM honours

Three distinguished CFA members have been awarded the Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM) in recognition of their outstanding service to the community when the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours List was announced today.

CFA heroes receive AFSM honours

Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM)

The trio have 159 years of combined service between them and have contributed across interstate firefighting, community fire preparedness, operational command, and training and development.

The recipients hold experience with CFA during some of the state’s most severe disasters including Black Saturday and Ash Wednesday, as well as making contributions and positive change to their local community and the wider organisation

The 2020 CFA Australian Fire Service Medal recipients are:

Ian Symons, Clyde Fire Brigade

CFA Chief Officer Steve Warrington congratulated the deserving recipients on their meaningful contributions and outstanding achievements.

“CFA is incredibly proud of its volunteers and career firefighters, and it is amazing to see some of our members recognised with the highest fire service medallion in the country,” Chief Warrington said.

Russell Pardew, Bemm Fire Brigade

“We are fortunate as an organisation to have so many outstanding people who devote a large part of their life to the protection of lives and property in their communities.

“It’s humbling to see these members continue to give their time to our organisation in volunteer roles and do their part in protecting lives and property.

“Congratulations to this year’s three CFA Australian Fire Service Medal recipients.”

Robin Parsons, Belmont Fire Brigade

/CFA News Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.