Disaster assistance extended following severe weather and flooding in southern New South Wales

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Joint media release

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience

The Hon Steph Cooke MP

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience

Disaster assistance is now available in the Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Albury, Bland, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hilltops, Narrandera and Temora following severe storms and flash flooding across the Riverina-Murray from 5 January 2022.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said a series of storm events in January caused significant damage.

“Parts of the Riverina-Murray experienced flash flooding as a result of intense periods of rainfall on 5-6 January, and again on 14-16 January,” Minister McKenzie said.

“The Australian and New South Wales governments are working closely to ensure that the individuals impacted receive the support they need to get back on their feet as quickly as possible.

“We also want to ensure that local councils are supported to restore essential public assets and keep the communities affected safe,” Minister McKenzie said.

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience, Steph Cooke, said multiple homes in Albury had been flooded, while primary producers in Griffith incurred significant damage.

“Members of the community who experienced damage to their homes can now access financial support, while primary producers and small businesses who suffered direct damage can receive concessional interest rate loans,” Ms Cooke said.

“Storm season is continuing until March so I am encouraging communities across the eight LGAs in the Riverina-Murray and the rest of the State, to be vigilant and prepared for future storms, rainfall and flooding.”

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.