Fellows awarded NSW Premier’s Prizes

Professor Rose Amal is the 2019 NSW Scientist of the Year.

Three Academy Fellows have taken out NSW Premier’s Prizes with chemical engineer Professor Rose Amal named the 2019 NSW Scientist of the Year.

Mathematician Professor Nalini Joshi received the Prize for Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry or Physics, while molecular biologist Professor Susan Clark received the Prize for Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences.

Professor Amal is recognised as a pioneer and leading authority in the fields of fine particle technology, photocatalysis-a chemical reaction that involves the absorption of light-and functional nanomaterials, having made significant contributions to these related areas of research over the past 25 years.

Her current research focuses on designing nanomaterials for solar and chemical energy conversion applications, including photocatalysis for water and air purification, and water splitting, and engineering systems for solar-induced processes, using the sun’s energy to generate clean fuel.

“When I first came to Australia over 35 years ago, I never dreamt that I would be named the NSW Scientist of the Year. I am extremely honoured to have been considered for this esteemed award, which I receive with great humility,” said Professor Amal.

“Scientific research contributes significantly to many everyday societal aspects and it has been a joy to be able to help improve people’s quality of life.”

Congratulations to the NSW Scientist of the year Professor Amal AC, a brilliant engineer whose work in solar and chemical energy conversion is changing lives, by providing clean water & sustainable energy. pic.twitter.com/BXSTWO9g42

– Gladys Berejiklian (@GladysB) October 29, 2019

The NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer, Academy Fellow Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, said this year’s winners illustrated both the diversity and strength of NSW research.

“This year’s entry contained the highest number of female nominations ever. Gratifyingly, this has translated into an equal number of female and male prize recipients, while also revealing a rich depth of talent, from our two exciting early-career researchers, right through to some of the most respected researchers in the state, including Scientist of the Year Professor Rose Amal,” said Professor Durrant-Whyte.

“I offer my sincere congratulations to all our winners and thank them for the outstanding and continuing contribution they make to science, engineering and education in NSW.”

Read about all the prize winners

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.