Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee Endorses Inuit-Crown Co-Development Principles

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Members of the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee (ICPC) met in Ottawa yesterday to advance shared priorities intended to create a more prosperous Inuit Nunangat through meaningful collaboration.

Inuit leadership and federal ministers marked another milestone in that relationship through the endorsement of Inuit-Crown Co-Development Principles. The Principles are intended to be implemented and adhered to by Inuit and all federal partners engaged in co-development initiatives.

The principles are premised on respect and support for Inuit rights to self-determination and participation in decision-making affecting Inuit, and are consistent with and intended to help implement the Inuit Nunangat Policy and United Nations Declaration on Indigenous Peoples. They are intended to be applied to all ongoing and future co-development initiatives, including distinctions-based Indigenous health legislation.

The December 1 meeting, co-chaired by the Honourable Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations, and Natan Obed, President of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, also focused on ongoing ICPC work related to Inuit Land Claims Implementation, the implementation of the Inuit Nunangat Policy, and Inuktut Revitalization. ICPC members endorsed the committee’s Inuit Nunangat Housing Strategy Implementation Plan, as well as its International Inuit Priorities workplan.

The ICPC advances work on shared priority areas between Inuit and the federal government. The Committee reflects a shared commitment to a renewed Inuit-Crown relationship and reconciliation based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

Participants at today’s meeting included:

  • Natan Obed, President, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Duane Smith, Chair and CEO, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
  • Aluki Kotierk, President, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
  • Johannes Lampe, President, Nunatsiavut
  • Pita Aatami, President, Makivvik
  • Lisa Koperqualuk, President, Inuit Circumpolar Council
  • Gerri Sharpe, President, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada
  • Brian Pottle, President, National Inuit Youth Council
  • Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations Canada
  • Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs Canada
  • Patty Hajdu, Minister of Indigenous Services Canada
  • David Lametti, Minister of Justice
  • Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport
  • Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Mona Fortier, President of the Treasury Board

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.