Janine Healey presented with 2021 Citizen Award

Janine Healey.jpg

The City of Launceston has presented its 2021 Citizen Award to Janine Healey at this afternoon’s annual Launceston Community Recognition Awards.

Ms Healey stepped down from the board of the Launceston Chamber of Commerce in October last year, after 20 years of service.

She was a founding member of the Harvest Launceston community farmers’ market, a founding trustee and treasurer of the Tamar Community Peace Trust, a former director and treasurer of Cityprom, and a former member of the QVMAG governance advisory board.

Among many other duties, Ms Healey is currently the Tasmanian Divisional President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a director of the Football Tasmania Board, and a director of the Unconformity festival.

Launceston Mayor Albert van Zetten said there were few people who could lay claim to such a wide breadth of service to the Tasmanian community.

“Janine Healey has dedicated an enormous amount of time to helping different groups achieve success across Tasmania,” Mayor van Zetten said.

“Launceston and northern Tasmania is a better place for having this amazing woman as part of our community. She does not sit on the sidelines and wait for things to happen — she finds a way to become actively involved.

“Dependable, generous and inclusive, Janine Healey has made an enduring commitment to our community, and the City of Launceston is delighted to present her with its 2021 Citizen Award.”

In addition to the presentation of the Citizen Award, a number of event organisers were also recognised at this afternoon’s Launceston Community Recognition Awards.

Awards were presented to the organisers of the Soggy Bottom Regatta and Family Fun Day, the Harvest Launceston market, the Mount Barrow Challenge, the Minds Do Matter arts exhibition, and REMADE 2020.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.