Membership of Social Security Advisory Committee

The Minister for Work and Pensions, the Baroness Deborah Stedman-Scott OBE DL, has confirmed the following reappointments to the Social Security Advisory Committee (SSAC):

  • Bruce Calderwood
  • Carl Emmerson
  • Charlotte Pickles
  • Liz Sayce

Additionally, Chris Goulden’s current appointment has been extended by 9 months.

Welcoming the reappointments SSAC Chair, Dr Stephen Brien, said:

I am delighted that Bruce, Carl, Charlotte and Liz have been reappointed for second terms, and that Chris’ current term has been extended. The Committee has greatly benefitted from their high quality expertise and valuable insight in recent years, and I am very pleased that we will continue to have access to that knowledge and experience in developing our advice to ministers.

Appointment and business interests

The staggered terms of the reappointments are designed to provide continuity of expertise and experience in the Committee’s membership, and mitigate against any risks associated with a large-scale change in membership during a single year.

Bruce Calderwood

  • Specialist Adviser to the Care Quality Commission inspections
  • Trustee of Avenues Group (a charity providing services to people with complex needs)

Bruce has been reappointed to 30 September 2023.

Carl Emmerson

  • Deputy Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • advisory board member of the Office for Budget Responsibility

Carl has been reappointed to 31 July 2024.

Charlotte Pickles

  • Director, Reform; Member of the NHS Assembly
  • Member, Poverty Strategy Commission

Charlotte has been reappointed to 31 July 2025.

Liz Sayce

  • Visiting Senior Fellow at the London School of Economics
  • Member of the Equality and Human Rights Commission’s (EHRC) Disability Advisory Committee
  • Trustee, Action on Disability and Development
  • Member, Advisory Board of the Royal Society of Arts, Manufacture, and Commerce’s Future of Work Programme

Liz has been reappointed to 31 July 2023.

Chris Goulden

  • Director of Impact and Evidence, Youth Futures Foundation
  • Member of the Social Policy Association
  • Member of the NESTA Rapid Recovery Challenge judging panel

Chris’s appointment has been extended to 30 April 2022.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.