New water tanks for Bush Fire Brigades as part of COVID recovery

  • McGowan Government investing more than $800,000 to build 61 new water tanks
  • Part of $2 million program for new water tanks
  • Infrastructure to support volunteer Bush Fire Brigades keep their communities safe and support regional jobs and economies 
  • The McGowan Government is funding 61 new water tanks for volunteer Bush Fire Brigades across Western Australia to strengthen the State’s bushfire response and drive economic and social recovery.

    Thirty regional local governments will share in more than $800,000 to purchase and install new water tanks for their Bush Fire Brigades during the first round of a $2 million, two-year funding initiative.

    The first round of funding targets volunteer brigades that do not have water storage at their station.

    Installing water tanks of between 12,000 litres and 170,000 litres allows volunteer firefighters to refill firefighting trucks at their station, which saves time during or after a bushfire.

    The funding is part of the State Government’s $5.5 billion WA Recovery Plan of which $15 million was set aside for upgrades to existing emergency services facilities such as bushfire sheds and new facilities to house emergency response vehicles and equipment.

    The first round water tanks are expected to be installed in the coming months helping local economies and tradespeople.

    A second round of the program funding is planned for early 2021 and will be extended to include water tanks for Bush Fire Brigades not based in towns. 

    This will reduce re-fill cycle times for firefighters fighting fires away from townsites and thereby improve bushfire response.

    As stated by Emergency Services Minister Francis Logan:

    “Volunteer firefighters provide an invaluable service to Western Australia, and this investment will deliver vital new water infrastructure to support their firefighting operations.

    “Each of these water tanks have been allocated to Bush Fire Brigades that don’t have access to scheme water or nearby dams, ensuring that this funding is going to areas that need it most.   

    “The funding is for local governments to help support their local economies as the State recovers from the effects of COVID-19.”

    The full list of recipients is below:

    Perth & Peel City of ArmadaleBedfordale
    Wheatbelt Shire of BeverleyBeverley Central Ward
    Wheatbelt Shire of BeverleyDale West
    South West Shire of Bridgetown-GreenbushesHester Brook
    South West Shire of Bridgetown-GreenbushesKangaroo Gully
    South West Shire of CapelStirling
    Mid WestShire of Chapman ValleyHowatharra
    South West Shire of CollieAllanson
    South West Shire of CollieHarris River
    Mid WestShire of CoorowCoorow Town
    Wheatbelt Shire of CuballingCuballing/Popanyinning
    South West Shire of DardanupBurekup
    South West Shire of DardanupDardanup Central
    South West Shire of DardanupJoshua/Crooked Brook
    South West Shire of DardanupWaterloo
    South West Shire of DardanupWellington Mills
    Great SouthernShire of DenmarkOcean Beach
    Great SouthernShire of DenmarkParryville
    Great SouthernShire of DenmarkPeaceful Bay
    Wheatbelt Shire of DumbleyungMoulyinning
    Great SouthernShire of EsperanceCascade
    Great SouthernShire of EsperanceCondingup
    Great SouthernShire of EsperanceMt Beaumont
    Great SouthernShire of EsperanceSalmon Gums
    Great SouthernShire of GnowangerupGnowangerup
    Mid WestCity of Greater GeraldtonCape Burney
    Mid WestCity of Greater GeraldtonMoonyoonooka
    Mid WestCity of Greater GeraldtonWaggrakine
    Mid WestCity of Greater GeraldtonWalkaway
    Wheatbelt Shire of Lake GraceLake King Town
    Wheatbelt Shire of Lake GraceNewdegate Town
    Perth & Peel City of MandurahMandurah Southern Districts
    South West Shire of ManjimupMordalup
    South West Shire of ManjimupRingbarkers
    South West Shire of ManjimupSpringfield/Manjimup
    South West Shire of ManjimupYanmah
    Wheatbelt Shire of Mount MarshallWialki
    Mid WestShire of MurchisonMurchison
    Perth & Peel Shire of MurrayDwellingup
    Perth & Peel Shire of MurrayNorth Dandalup
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamBakers Hill
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamClackline/Muresk
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamGrass Valley
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamInkpen
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamIrishtown
    Wheatbelt Shire of NorthamSouthern Brook
    Mid WestShire of PerenjoriLatham
    Mid WestShire of PerenjoriPerenjori
    Wheatbelt Shire of WaginPiesseville
    Wheatbelt Shire of WaginWedgecarrup
    Wheatbelt Shire of WanderingWandering Town
    Perth & Peel Shire of WaroonaPreston Beach
    Wheatbelt Shire of WilliamsGlenfield
    Mid WestShire of YalgooPaynes Find
    Mid WestShire of YalgooYalgoo
    Wheatbelt Shire of YilgarnBullfinch
    Wheatbelt Shire of YilgarnMoorine Rock
    Wheatbelt Shire of YilgarnMt Hampton
    Wheatbelt Shire of KondininKarlgarin
    KimberleyShire of Wyndham-East KimberleyIvanhoe

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.