Nominations are now open for 10th Education and Care Awards

NT Government

The NT’s very best early childhood educators will be recognised at this year’s NT Education and Care Awards.

The awards recognise the vital contribution early childhood educators and service providers make to the lives of Northern Territory children and their families.

Territorians are encouraged to nominate an educator or service they feel demonstrates outstanding commitment to early childhood education. Nominations are now open for the following 5 award categories:

· Outstanding Education and Care Program Award (new)

· Outstanding Educator

· Outstanding Aboriginal Educator

· Outstanding Early Childhood Teacher

· Outstanding Leader

The 2022 award winners will receive $1,500 (each individual award) and $2,000 (service award) towards their professional learning objectives to enhance their awareness and understanding of quality practices in education and care and ultimately lead to quality improvements across the Territory.

“Birth to 5 years is a critical time for child development milestones and many of our educators go above and beyond to deliver quality education and care to Territory children,” said Agnes McGrath from Early Childhood Education and Care, Department of Education.

“Getting the right start in life is essential for a child’s development.”

“Children’s early learning and wellbeing influence their future, and it’s the early childhood and care staff who work hard with every child to ensure they have access to a quality and engaging learning environment,” she said.

Stuart Park Childcare Centre Director, Kim Grambeau said the awards were a great way for families to recognise early childhood education.

“Early childhood educators play a huge role in supporting the community and our children to thrive.”

“We have such a dedicated cohort of educators here in the Territory, and these awards are a wonderful way recognise the contribution our services make every day.”

The awards are a joint initiative of the NT Government and the Early Childhood Education and Care Key Stakeholders Advisory Group made up of peak bodies from the sector.

Nominations close Friday 24 June 2022. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Parliament House on 21 October 2022.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.