Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Award winners

NT Government

The Northern Territory’s hardworking nurses and midwives had their efforts to keep Territorians safe recognised at the 2022 Northern Territory Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.

There were 10 award categories for enrolled and registered nurses and midwives working in any healthcare setting in the Territory including, for the first time, two separate awards for Nurse of the Year and Midwife of the Year.

Mish Hill, Acting Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, NT Health, said nurses and midwives are often the first people to support patients and their families in the health system, and play a central role providing care across the Territory.

“This year’s award recipients and nominees have made a profound impact on their patients and colleagues through the work they do. They have each shown passion, commitment and enthusiasm within their specialities,” Ms Hill said.

“Nurses and midwives in the Northern Territory provide care to a diverse population across vast geographical and cultural contexts. They work in clinics, homes and hospitals across urban, rural and remote settings, making a positive impact on the lives of Territorians.

“Our nurses and midwives support individuals and families from birth through all stages to end of life and the awards are a reflection of that journey from entry to practice, to diverse careers in leadership and research, through to lifetime achievements,” Ms Hill said.

The gala ball, held at the Darwin convention centre on Saturday 14 May, was a sold out event attended by over 350 guests. This year’s awards program saw a record breaking number of sponsors with 12 organisations providing more than $80,000 in funding.

The recipients for the 2022 Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards are:

New to Practice Nurse/Midwife of the Year

Joyce Akong – Graduate Registered Nurse, Intensive Care Unit, Royal Darwin Hospital

Flinders University Award for Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Education

Lauren Roberts – Paediatric Nurse Educator, Royal Darwin Hospital

Charles Darwin University Award Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Research/Quality Improvement

Paula Vandokkum – Clinical Midwifery Specialist, Research Nurse, Maternity Unit Alice Springs Hospital and Menzies School of Health Research

National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre Excellence Award in Nursing/Midwifery Leadership

Josie Curr – NT Health Commander, COVID-19 Public Health Coordination, NT Health

Flinders University Award for Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Aboriginal Health

Peter Gazey – Primary Health Service Manager, Binjari Clinic – Wurli-Wurlinjang Health Service

Team Award for Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery

Alan Walker Cancer Centre – Royal Darwin Hospital

Client Appreciation Award for Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery

Norelena Walsh – Child Health Nurse, Palmerston Health Precinct Building Complex Community Care Centre, NT Health

NT Administrator’s Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Nursing/Midwifery

Josie Curr – NT Health Commander, COVID-19 Public Health Coordination, NT Health

Nurse of the Year

Mark Di Francesco – Registered Nurse, Don Dale Youth Detention Centre, Danila Dilba Health Service

Nursing and Midwifery Federation Australia – Midwife of the Year

Katy Hoyle – Clinical Midwifery Educator, Women, Children and Youth Division, Royal Darwin Hospital

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.