Spotlight Shines on Frontline Indigenous Health Workers

NT Government

Finalists have been unveiled for the 2021 Northern Territory Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker and Practitioner Excellence Awards set to be held on September 2.

The outstanding work of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals to support their families, communities and healthcare system in the Territory will take centre stage.

The awards are held in partnership with the Australian Government Health Department, Darwin Sunrise Rotary Club, United Workers Union, Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory and the National Association of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers and Practitioners.

All Indigenous health workers and health practitioners employed in the Territory are eligible for nomination.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students studying qualifications from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care Training Package are eligible for nomination in the Student Awards category.

These awards acknowledge the efforts of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health workforces over the period of May 2020 to 1 June 2021.

Nominations opened on 1 June 2021 and closed on 18 July 2021.

Quotes from Health Minister Natasha Fyles:

“Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals play a vital role in our community delivering health services across the Territory to clients in urban, regional and remote areas.

“Not only are they keeping Territorians safe during this pandemic – they are also making sure we don’t neglect our general health.

“I congratulate the 19 finalists in the running to receive an award in addition to every other frontline health worker who are all community heroes.”


– Chris Rankine-Johnson, Pine Creek Primary Health Care Centre

– Dorothy Gondarra, Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

– Elizabeth Hitchcock, Royal Darwin Hospital

– Emslie Lankin, Alice Springs Hospital

– Eyvette Hawthorne, Royal Darwin Hospital

– Ilija Jacobs, Top End Mental Health & Alcohol and Other Drugs

– Jecinta Tatipata, Casuarina Community Care Centre

– Keinan Keighran, Wurli-Wurlinjang Aboriginal Health Service

– Leah Carter, Ti Tree Primary Health Care Centre

– Maryanne Malbunka, Ntaria Primary Health Care Centre

– Megan Munckton, Tennant Creek Hospital

– Patricia Nundhirribala, Numbulwar Primary Health Care Centre

– Ricky Orr, Titjikala Primary Health Care Centre

– Sarah Mariyalawuy Bukulatjpi, Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

– Sarah Quong, Danila Dilba Health Service

– Sherrelle Khan, Alice Springs Hospital

– Sherryl King, Wurli-Wurlinjang Aboriginal Health Service

– Susan Mungatopi, Milikapiti Primary Health Care Centre

– Virgil John Puruntatameri, Pirlangimpi Primary Health Care Centre

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.