Tamworth region Australia Day Awards winners announced

Communities across the Tamworth region came together this morning to celebrate Australia Day, welcome some new Australian citizens and crown the winners of the annual Australia Day Awards.

Tamworth Region Mayor Russell Webb sent his congratulations to each community member who was nominated for and won an award.

“We are fortunate to have many exceptional individuals in our community, and I enjoyed taking the time to meet the award recipients in Tamworth after the ceremony.”


The Tamworth 2021 Citizen of the Year was awarded to Tamworth Powerstation Museum volunteer Mr Ian Hobbs. He has been an extremely valued and dedicated volunteer over the past 24 years with a talent for building display cases for new exhibitions. His passion for the museum is clear to see, with one of his roles to welcome new volunteers and show them through each exhibition. He is acknowledged as a mentor to many other museum volunteers.

Ms Isla Farr was awarded the Tamworth 2021 Young Citizen of the Year Award. Living with cerebral palsy, Ms Farr is a strong advocate for those living with a disability and is currently a member of the Tamworth Disability Action Working Group and serving her second term on the Tamworth Regional Youth Council. Ms Farr is Vice Captain of Oxley High School and is a well-loved member of the school community.

The 2021 Mitchell Brady Encouragement Award was awarded to 13-year-old, Ms Abbie Peet. Despite living with cerebral palsy, Ms Peet has had an incredible year competing in the Australian Para Athletic Events where she currently holds three records in the Under 15s Division. She is described as a determined young lady who always runs with a smile on her face, and a role model to others with special needs, who takes the time to encourage others to get involved in community activities.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.