Townsville Hospital and Health Board to benefit from continuity

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

In a show of confidence in the Townsville Hospital and Health Board member Michelle Morton has been reappointed for a further term.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Yvette D’Ath said Ms Morton had provided strong leadership in the delivery of health services in the Townsville region.

“I congratulate Ms Morton in securing this reappointment on the Townsville Hospital and Health Board,” Ms D’Ath said.

“I thank Ms Morton for her contribution and look forward to working with her towards achieving the goal of making Queensland’s health system the best in Australia.

“The fact that Ms Morton has been reappointed reflects stability and is a testament of her dedication to her community.

“The Townsville Hospital and Health Board is a diverse group, with five women and four men – all with a range of backgrounds, experience and skills – combining to ensure the broader community is well-represented in the health space.”

Townsville Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Mr Tony Mooney AM (Chair)
  • Ms Michelle Morton
  • Ms Georgina Whelan
  • Ms Nicole Hayes
  • Professor Ajay Rane OAM
  • Ms Debra Burden
  • Ms Danette Hocking
  • Mr Robert (Donald) Whaleboat
  • Mr Christopher Castles

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health services and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.