2019 Northern Territory Literary Awards Finalists Announced

Department of Tourism, Sport and Culture

The Northern Territory Library congratulateslocal Territory writers who have been announced as finalists for the 2019Northern Territory Literary Awards.

Department of Tourism, Sport and CulturesSenior Director Northern Territory Library and Archives, Patrick Gregory, saidthe Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge and showcase the breadth ofwriting talent across the Territory and to celebrate our writing community.

We have received over 230 submissions acrossseven categories with entries from Yuendumu, Yulara, Tennant Creek, AliceSprings and Darwin its great to see representation from across the Territoryin the Awards.

Once again the strength and diversity ofTerritory voices is very much on display Mr Gregory said.

The annual Northern Territory Literary Awardshave celebrated the work of Northern Territory writers for more than 35 years.It is part of an ongoing program of events at the Northern Territory Librarythat celebrate the achievements of established and emerging writers,storytellers and prominent Territorians.

Winners will be announced and presented withtheir prizes at a ceremony held at the Northern Territory Library on Wednesday 24July. This free event is open to the public with tickets available through theNorthern Territory Library website – ntl.nt.gov.au.

Winners and finalists will have their workpublished in an annual publication that will be available online or in printedform at the Library following the ceremony. Past publications can be viewed at ntl.nt.gov.au.

The 2019 Northern Territory Literary Awardsshortlist include:

Browns Mart Theatre Award

Notall dreams wear capes, Thomas Midena

OneMore Hour, Mary Anne Butler

TheMission, Kristy Schubert

Charles DarwinUniversity Creative Non-Fiction Award

OnEagles’ Wings, Stephen Enciso

StillFlossing, Roland Bull

TheBirds, James Murray

CharlesDarwin University Essay Award

BushCourt: Rough justice at courts in remote Indigenous communities, JulianMurphy

GreaterExpectations: prison writing and its effect on prison transformation, AdelleSefton-Rowston

TheEffects of Online Sexual Activity on Adolescent Development and itsImplications for Northern Territory Middle and Secondary Schools, JacobFajzullin

FlashFiction Award

BeingAunty May, Romany Maunder

SharedRisk, Liz Bennett

TheColours of an Arm, Lee Frank

TheMasked Lapwing, Worthington Smelling

KathManzie Youth Award

ALiars Colour, Elisha Pettit

AMeal, Fleur Liveris

redbees / blue sea, Leila Heinrich

NTWriters’ Centre Poetry Award

‘Forgotten’history, Meg Mooney

Lyapirtneme/Noreturn, Susan Fielding

Meltingsnow, Carol Maxwell


Sickof Her Flowers Trilogy, Catherine Parsons

Whatdoctors think about when they close their eyes, JohannaBell

Zip PrintShort Story Award

Centring, Jim Blackwood

Going theDistance,Barbara Eather

Sam, Stephen Enciso

MediaContact Department of Tourism, Sport andCulture 0447 130 495


1. 2018 Short Story Award winner,Mhairi Duncan

2. 2018 Award Ceremony, Robbie Hoadreciting some of the winning works

3. 2018 Award Ceremony, MC Patrick AhKit welcoming the authors and audience

/Public Release. View in full here.