Applications open for 20th Premier’s Science Awards

  • Applications are now open for Western Australia’s 2021 Premier’s Science Awards and the WA Science Hall of Fame
  • Awards have celebrated local STEM superstars for 20 years
  • Winners will be announced during National Science Week in August
  • Western Australian achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) will be in the spotlight at the upcoming 2021 Premier’s Science Awards, with applications now open.

    Established in 2002, the awards recognise outstanding achievements in scientific research, study and engagement by Western Australians.

    Award categories in 2021 include Scientist of the Year, Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year, ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year, Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year and Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year.

    The winners will be announced at a ceremony during National Science Week in August, with the Scientist of the Year taking away $50,000 and other category winners each receiving $10,000.

    Nominations are also open for the WA Science Hall of Fame, which was established in 2007 and recognises exceptional, lifelong contributions made by Western Australians to STEM.

    The awards are chaired by the Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Professor Peter Klinken AC.

    In 2020, the prestigious Scientist of the Year award was shared by internationally renowned radio astronomer, Professor Steven Tingay, and pioneer in the field of epigenomics, Professor Ryan Lister.

    This year’s awards are sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside and supported by Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, The University of Western Australia, CSIRO, the Western Australian Museum and the Telethon Kids Institute.

    Applications close on Monday, May 17, 2021. For information, visit

    As stated by Premier Mark McGowan:

    “Over the past 20 years, the Premier’s Science Awards have celebrated the world-class STEM talent that calls Western Australia home.

    “The awards are an opportunity to shine a spotlight on the State’s groundbreaking scientific achievements and invest in the next generation of STEM pioneers.

    “We know how important research and development is to ensuring our economy continues to grow and we have the talent to fill the jobs of the future. The statistics show that every $1 invested in research returns $5 to the economy.

    “Strengthening participation in STEM is a priority for my Government, to make sure we have a globally competitive workforce that has the skills to drive WA’s technological future and our ongoing prosperity.”

    As stated by Science Minister Roger Cook:

    “The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the crucial contribution science makes every day to the health and prosperity of our whole community.

    “The Premier’s Science Awards celebrate WA’s highest achievers across the diverse fields of STEM, and showcase the groundbreaking research being undertaken across our State.

    “We hope the awards will inspire Western Australians from all walks of life to consider the exciting and rewarding opportunities offered by a career in STEM.”

    Science Minister’s office – 6552 6500

    /Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.