AusBiotech welcomes new Board member

AusBiotech announced today a change in Board Directors, with CSL Limited maintaining a presence as Dr Andrea Douglas, Senior Vice President Organisation Transformation and External Affairs completes her tenure and Dr Serge Scrofani, Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development is elected to the Board. Ms Michelle Burke was elected as Deputy Chair of the Board of Directors.

Dr Serge Scrofani brings to AusBiotech a global approach to Australian life sciences.

Dr Scrofani is the Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development, at CSL Limited’s global headquarters in Parkville, Victoria. He is responsible for evaluating, negotiating and closing on global strategic growth opportunities through mergers and acquisitions. His strong interest in the Asia-Pacific biotech sector has also enabled him to take a lead role in defining CSL’s growth strategy for China and other emerging markets.

He has held various roles at CSL both locally and internationally, including as Global Head of Business Development for CSL’s largest subsidiary, CSL Behring. Prior to this, he joined Zenyth (formerly Amrad) in 1998 and held positions in both Research and Business Development before its acquisition by CSL in 2006.

Serge has a PhD in Structural Biology from La Trobe University and undertook postdoctoral research studies at The University of Melbourne before completing a Fulbright postdoctoral fellowship at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California. He holds an MBA from The Melbourne Business School and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Serge also serves on Board committees at the Burnet Institute.

AusBiotech Chairman, Ms Julie Phillips said: “We are delighted to welcome Dr Serge Scrofani to the AusBiotech Board. His experience in big pharma and in growth markets, including China, will help us identify more international opportunities for AusBiotech members.”

The AusBiotech AGM also marked the departure of Dr Andrea Douglas, who has served a full six years on the AusBiotech Board after being elected to the Board in October 2013. Andrea has also served as a member of the AusBiotech Remuneration and Nomination Committee. The Board extends its sincere thanks to Andrea for her valuable contribution.

“Andrea has delivered valuable service to AusBiotech and the sector during her AusBiotech Board tenure. On behalf of the Board, I extend our sincere thanks to Andrea for her dedicated contribution and insights, particularly during AusBiotech’s change in CEO-leadership last year,” said AusBiotech Chairman, Ms Julie Phillips.

Long-serving director Ms Michelle Burke was elected as Deputy Chairman, marking a newly created role for the of the AusBiotech Board. Michelle was appointed as a Director of AusBiotech in November 2012.

The Board composition is:

Ms Julie Phillips, Chairman, and CEO and Executive Director, BioDiem

Ms Michelle Burke, Deputy Chairman, and Principal and Director, Indigo Advisory

Ms Lorraine Chiroiu, CEO, AusBiotech

Prof. Jan Tennent, CEO, BioMedical Research Victoria

Mr Barry Thomas, Director, Cook Medical Asia Pacific & Vice President, Cook Inc., Cook Medical/Cook Inc.

Mr Serg Duchini, Partner Global Investment and Innovation Incentives (Gi³)/Co. Director, Deloitte Tax Services Pty Ltd

Dr Megan Baldwin, Managing Director and CEO, Opthea Limited

Dr Dean Moss, CEO, UniQuest

Dr Serge Scrofani, Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development, CSL Limited

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.