Brian Laul awarded Campbelltown Citizen of Year

Passionate local residents and community organisations were recognised for their contributions to Campbelltown during the 2023 Australia Day Awards at the Greg Percival Community Centre in Ingleburn this morning.

Brian Laul was awarded the Citizen of the Year Award in recognition of his work across a range of community initiatives over many years.

He is a passionate and tireless advocate for the Campbelltown community, championing a range of events and programs, particularly focused around diversity, young people and multiculturalism.

Mr Laul helps shine a light on the amazing stories of people and organisations in Campbelltown while also running several community programs connecting people to important services and information.

He was among five citizens and one community organisation who were recognised across the 6 award categories.

“The Australia Day Awards recognise people in our community who go the extra mile to make a difference in all walks of life,” Mayor George Greiss said.

“There was an amazing selection of people nominated across each of the categories so it was incredibly difficult for our panel to pick someone for each of the awards,” Cr Greiss said.

“I’d like to congratulate our winners and thank all the nominees and everyone who put in the time to nominate them for their contributions to Campbelltown,” he said.

Kyla Hodges was named Young Citizen of the Year for her work as an ambassador and committed fundraiser for the Bravery Buddies, a charity that supplies companion dolls for children going through cancer treatment or with Alopecia.

Community Group Initiative of the Year was awarded to Horizon Youth St Andrews, who work with young people from all cultures, socioeconomic backgrounds and family structures to guide and mentor them to make healthy life decisions.

Campbelltown Ghosts All Inclusive Scout Group leader Reece Riley received the Disability and Inclusion Award for his commitment to providing opportunities for children of all abilities to participate in recreational activities and form social connections in a safe and inclusive environment.

Environmental Citizen of the Year was awarded to Deb Evans-Clark for her long-standing commitment to the Campbelltown City Council Bushcare program as part of the Noorumba and Scattergood Reserve groups and for her work as a wildlife carer with Sydney Wildlife.

Talented netball player Lachlan Arbuckle was named Sportsperson of the Year in recognition of his selection in numerous representative teams and work coaching and umpiring the sport.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.