Covid vaccination rollout accelerates with 50 new schools

COVID-19 vaccinations will be made available in more than 50 additional South Australian schools to make it easier for students and staff to get the potentially lifesaving vaccination before Christmas.

The new sites are on top of the 24 already-established SA Health school vaccination hubs and take the total number of school-based clinics to more than 70, with the potential to reach 34,000 students by the end of this term.

In the selection of locations priority has been given providing access to more vulnerable communities and communities with lower vaccination rates.

Premier Steven Marshall said that opening up more schools-based clinics will help accelerate South Australia's push towards the double vaccination milestones set out in the state's COVID Ready Plan.

"Vaccination is the key to South Australians enjoying the freedom and mobility that we are all hoping for this Christmas," said Premier Marshall.

"The rapid expansion of the school-based hubs means that students and their families have a more convenient way to get vaccinated during this school term and ensure our school communities remain as safe as possible.

"With the festive season fast approaching, South Australians have Christmas in their hands. If we all get behind the rollout and push up past the 90 per cent double vaccination milestone, we can have a more normal Christmas."

The schools clinic expansion has been made possible through a partnership between the Commonwealth and their providers, SA Health, the Department for Education and the Catholic and independent school systems.

Minister for Health and Wellbeing Stephen Wade said it has never been easier or more convenient to get vaccinated.

"I want to thank everyone who has already rolled up to protect themselves, their loved ones and their community," said Minister Wade.

"We have continued to scale up vaccination clinics and open new ones. We recently launched a new fleet of mobile vaccination vans; we're working with a growing list of businesses and we just held our first super walk-in weekend which saw thousands of South Australians get vaccinated.

"Vaccination is our pathway out of the pandemic and these new school sites will make it even easier for South Australians to get a jab."

The vaccine will be available in schools to students aged 12 to 18 years old with parental consent, as well as parents, siblings and school staff.

Schools will communicate directly with families letting them know when the clinics will run.

The 54 schools announced today are:

1.Adelaide North Special School

2.Avenues College

3.Blackwood High School

4.Bowden Brompton Community School

5.Caritas College, Pt Augusta (Non-gov)

6.Ceduna Area School

7.Christies Beach HS & Sth Voc College

8.Coober Pedy Area School

9.Craigmore High School

10.Cummins Area School

11.Eastern Fleurieu R-12 School

12.Edward John Eyre High School

13.Gladstone High School

14.Golden Grove High School

15.Gordon Education Centre

16.Hamilton Secondary College

17.Henley High School

18.Hope Christian College, Craigmore (Non-gov)

19.Kilparrin Teaching and Assessment School and Services

20.Kirton Point School (staff/parents only)

21.Lake Wangary Primary School (staff/parents only)

22.Lincoln Gardens Primary (staff/parents only)

23.Maitland Lutheran College, Maitland (Non-gov)

24.Meningie Area School

25.Modbury Special School

26.Moonta Area School

27.Mount Barker High School

28.Murray Bridge High School

29.Naracoorte High School

30.Navigator College, Port Lincoln (Non-gov)

31.Nuriootpa High School

32.Ocean View P-12 College

33.Parafield Gardens High School

34.Peterborough High School

35.Poonindie School (staff/parents only)

36.Port Augusta Special School

37.Port Lincoln Primary (staff/parents only)

38.Port Lincoln Special School

39.Riverland Special School

40.Roxby Downs Area School

41.SA School for Vision Impaired

42.Salisbury East High School

43.Samaritan College, Whyalla (Non-gov)

44.Seaford Secondary College

45.Springbank Secondary College

46.St Joseph's School, Pt Lincoln (Non-gov)

47.The Grove Education Centre

48.The Heights School

49.Thomas More College, Salisbury (Non-gov)

50.Tumby Bay Area School

51.Victor Harbor High School

52.Whyalla High School

53.Whyalla Special Education Centre

54.Wirreanda Secondary School

/Public News. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).