Defense Board Holds Winter Meeting in DC

U.S. Department of Defense

The Defense Innovation Board will host its second board meeting Tuesday, January 31st and Wednesday, February 1st, at the Pentagon in Washington, DC. Since the last Defense Innovation Board meeting, Secretary Austin and Undersecretary Shyu tasked the board with two studies to provide Department leaders insights and recommendations related to the National Defense Science and Technology (S&T) Strategy review and strategic investment capital. The Department also welcomes the board’s newest members, Mr. Charles Phillips.

The Secretary of Defense appointed the following members to each study at the recommendation of the board Sponsor, Under Secretary Shyu, and the Chair, Michael R. Bloomberg:

National Defense Science and Technology (S&T) Strategy Review Task Force:

Hon. Mac Thornberry, Chair

Dr. Gilda Barabino

Admiral (Ret.) Mike Mullen

Ryan Swann

Strategic Investment Capital (SIC) Task Force:

Hon. Dr. Will Roper, Chair

Hon. Sue Gordon

Reid Hoffman

Charles Phillips

The Department seeks the board’s advice and recommendations on these topics following Secretary Austin’s announcement of the Office of Strategic Capital and the anticipated release of the Department’s first-ever National Defense S&T Strategy, as mandated by Congress. During the Winter Board Meeting, the DIB task force members will provide an update on work to date and the board will receive briefs on innovation initiatives across the Department.

The Defense Innovation Board provides Department leaders independent advice and strategic insights on commercial sector approaches to innovation that will enable the Department to build enduring advantages in a technology-and-innovation-driven environment.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.