Disaster Assistance Extended To Surf Coast Shire In Victoria

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Joint Media Release

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience

The Hon Jaclyn Symes

Victorian Minister for Emergency Services

The Australian and Victorian Governments are continuing to support the recovery of communities impacted by the storms in late October 2021, with assistance now extended to the Surf Coast Shire.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said the wild storms had impacted much of the state, with 38 LGAs already receiving assistance.

“Assistance is now being extended to the Surf Coast LGA, which saw many trees come down, which left debris and fallen trees on roads.

“The Australian Government is working closely with the Victorian Government, and we are ready to provide further assistance as necessary.”

“We continue to stand shoulder to shoulder with these communities to assist in repairing the damage caused by these events.”

Victorian Minister for Emergency Services, the Hon Jaclyn Symes said that the impact of the storms continued to be felt across the state.

“Councils are still undertaking clean-up and restoration activities and the assistance being announced today will help ensure impacted councils have the support they need,” Minister Symes said.

“The Surf Coast Council has spent several weeks clearing debris from roads and undertaking emergency works to get the roads accessible again.”

Disaster recovery assistance is available in the local government areas of Ararat, Ballarat, Banyule, Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Bayside, Boroondara, Brimbank, Cardinia, Casey, Colac Otway, East Gippsland, Frankston, Glen Eira, Golden Plains, Greater Dandenong, Greater Geelong, Hepburn, Hobsons Bay, Kingston, Knox City, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, Manningham, Maroondah, Monash, Moonee Valley, Moorabool, Mornington Peninsula, Nillumbik, Northern Grampians, Port Phillip, Pyrenees, Queenscliff, South Gippsland, Surf Coast, Wellington, Whittlesea and Yarra Ranges.

Affected local councils should contact Emergency Management Victoria via email [email protected] to discuss the availability of assistance.

Information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at disasterassist.gov.au

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.