Hub to drive agricultural research and innovation

CDU Acting PVC Research and Innovation Steve Rogers, DITT’s Lorraine Corowa, Minister David Littleproud, Natural Resource Management CEO Karen May, NT Farmers CEO Paul Burke and CDU Provost Mike Wilson.

Partners of the Northern Western Australia and Northern Territory (NWANT) Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hub welcomed Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia David Littleproud in Darwin yesterday.

The Minister expressed his strong support for the Hub program and his vision for the role of regional universities in both supporting the program and driving agricultural research and innovation.

Charles Darwin University (CDU) Provost Mike Wilson and Acting PVC Research and Innovation Steve Rogers briefed the Minister on the plans for the Hub at CDU’s Darwin Waterfront Campus.

Mr Rogers said the Hub would play an important role in leading future agricultural research.

“Primary producers will be able to help drive and shape future research in agriculture that will directly benefit their livelihoods and operations,” Mr Rogers said.

Minister Littleproud welcomed this new initiative and acknowledged CDU’s role in developing key research in tropical agriculture.

“The new pillar of agriculture is research and development and technology and CDU will play a key role in that, particularly in the tropics,” he said.

“We want to build the capacity of universities and commodity research development corporations and for the entire science, research and technology space for the agriculture sector.”

They were joined by Hub partners including NT Department of Industry Tourism and Trade, NT Farmers Association and Territory Natural Resource Management.

The next stages for the Hub, supported by the Australian Government, will see the recruitment process for the Hub Director and knowledge broker positions.

Regional hubs in Katherine, Alice Springs and regional Northern WA will be established and a series of planning and stakeholder engagement workshops will define the workplan.

One of Hub partner regional contact points in Katherine will be established either at the CDU Katherine Regional Campus or at the NT DITT Katherine Research Station.

The NWANT Hub coordinating Group includes Charles Darwin University, the Northern Territory Cattleman’s Association, Kimberley Pilbara Cattlemen’s Association, Northern Territory Farmers Association, Territory Natural Resource Management, the Rangelands Natural Resources Management, Regional Development Australia NT and the Western Australia and Northern Territory Governments.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.