Minister LeBlanc announces appointments to Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments 6 August

Democratic Institutions

Today, the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities, announced 11 appointments to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments.

The appointees will represent their respective provinces for one-year, alrenewable terms:

  • Ann McCain Evans for New Brunswick – Philanthropist and supporter of many innovative projects dedicated to arts and culture, health, education and the environment, at the regional, provincial and national levels.
  • Dr. Donald J. Savoie for New Brunswick – Canada Research Chair in Public Administration and Governance at the Université de Moncton.
  • Scott Annear for Prince Edward Island – General Manager of Morley Annear Ltd.
  • Sue Fraser for Prince Edward Island – General Manager of the Bell Aliant Centre and owner-operator of SJF Collaborative.
  • Corrine (Connie) Sparks for Nova Scotia – Commissioner with the Nova Scotia Land Titles Initiative and retired judge.
  • Heidi Jamieson-Mills for Nova Scotia – Senior Vice President, Finance Reporting and Treasury at Sobeys Inc. and chartered accountant.
  • Joy Buckle for Newfoundland and Labrador – Vice President of Policy and Planning at Sequence Bio.
  • Gerald Glavine for Newfoundland and Labrador – Vice-President of business development for Exploits Valley Air Services.

The following Board members were re-appointed for two-year renewable terms:

  • Dr. Huguette Labelle as a federal member and Chair of the Board – Emeritus Governor of the University of Ottawa and former Deputy Minister with the Government of Canada.
  • Melissa Blake as a federal member – Former mayor of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo.
  • The Honourable François Rolland as a federal member – Senior counsel, mediator and arbitrator at Langlois Lawyers and former Chief Justice of the Superior Court of Quebec.

Senate recommendations are made based on established assessment criteria. Canadians are encouraged to apply, if they are eligible, or nominate qualified individuals year-round for membership in the Senate. Applications are retained for two years, and qualified candidates are encouraged to re-apply.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.