New members join Place Names Committee

Six new members have been appointed to the ACT Place Names Advisory Committee.

Minister for Planning and Land Management Mick Gentleman appointed the new members and welcomed them to the ACT Place Names Advisory Committee.

“These new members will provide advice about the naming of our suburbs roads, parks and public places that is consistent with a modern and inclusive Canberra,” Minister Gentleman said.

“Each new appointee successfully demonstrated a strong understanding of the Canberra community and connection to the local area.

“They come from a broad range of backgrounds, including our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community. A wide range of views and experience will help deliver on the government’s commitment to place names that reflect diversity and our region’s history.

“The new members will join Dr David Headon, Dr Anne McGrath, Mr Granville Allen Mawer and Dr Marilyn Truscott who I have reappointed along with the Surveyor-General of the ACT and a representative of the National Capital Authority.

“I want to thank the outgoing committee members for the important voluntary contribution they have made over the last three years.

“We are also looking at different ways the Canberra community can get involved in place naming in our region. Earlier this year we asked the community what names they wanted to give to five unnamed roads in Weston Park.

“The most popular theme was Wayfinding, which included names like Elm Avenue, Pontoon Place and Tarcoola Grove. New signage to reflect the community’s choices will be installed in Weston Park later this year.”

The new appointments to the ACT Place Names Advisory Committee are:

  • Mr Bradley Mapiva Brown
  • Ms Roslyn Dundas
  • Mr Tom McIlroy
  • Mr Andrew Smith
  • Ms Caterina Sullivan
  • Dr Karen Williams

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.