Nominate your local heroes for 2022 Moreland Award

There are just four weeks left for Moreland residents to shine a light on outstanding community members, by nominating them for a 2022 Moreland Award.

Moreland Mayor Councillor Mark Riley said the awards celebrate those who have enriched our community through outstanding service over the past 12 months.

“The Moreland Awards are one way we celebrate these significant achievements of local individuals and community groups who work passionately to improve our lives,” Cr Riley said.

“With a broad range of categories, the awards could recognise a volunteer parent helping a local sports club, a student coming up with new ways to reduce waste, or an organisation supporting local women to succeed in science.”

There are 10 categories of awards, including arts and culture, sport, youth contribution, environmental sustainability, access and inclusion, collaborative partnerships, honouring women, reconciliation activities, community events and volunteerism.

In 2021, Adam Tardif from Dads Group received the Collaborative Partnerships Award.

Adam has worked on creating a highly successful partnership between local dads, dads’ groups, and Council’s Maternal and Child Health team. He has been the main driver behind starting new dads’ groups in Moreland, ensuring fathers stayed connected during COVID lockdowns.

“Starting the four Dads Groups in Moreland has been an amazing experience and a pleasure to be part of,” Adam said.

Cr Riley said residents like Adam inspire residents to do their part for our community.

“Adam has shared his own journey of fatherhood to help build a network of likeminded volunteers across Moreland. I’m honoured to live in a community with many passionate people just like Adam – let’s put the spotlight on some more wonderful residents in this year’s awards.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.