Six Canberrans recognised for protecting our community

Minister for Police and Emergency Services Mick Gentleman has awarded six ACT Community Protection Medals at a ceremony at the National Arboretum.

“I’m proud to recognise the achievements and dedication of staff and volunteers across our police and emergency services,” Minister Gentleman said.

“The six medal recipients embody everything that makes our community great and have diligently served Canberra.

“They are dedicated and passionate people who have each gone above and beyond their normal duties to make our community safer.

“I would also like to recognise the recipients’ families who provide unwavering support to their exemplary family members.”

The recipients of the 2021 ACT Community Protection Medal are:

ACT Emergency Services Agency – Mr Erik Sandin

In recognition of his dedication, commitment and excellence in developing and enhancing ESA’s spatial service capabilities and outstanding personal commitment to the professional development of volunteers.

ACT Fire and Rescue – Mr Colin O’Rourke

In recognition of his outstanding professional service within ACT Fire and Rescue and for leading the development and delivery of online fire safety educational programs for the community.

ACT Rural Fire Service – Mr Anthony Cross

In recognition of his extraordinary commitment to the ACT Rural Fire Service Southern Districts Brigade, including leading the care and maintenance of resources and equipment to ensure crews are well equipped and ready to respond to fire emergencies.

ACT Ambulance Service – Mr Neil Glasgow

In recognition of his outstanding professional service, excellence, dedication and leadership in the development of medical support capabilities to support future firefighting operations.

ACT State Emergency Service – Mr Nicholas Rand

In recognition of his dedication, commitment and excellence in developing systems to enhance logistic functions within the ESA, and outstanding personal dedication to ensuring SES units are ready and operational to support the ACT community.

ACT Policing – Leading Senior Constable Nadia Mulino

In recognition of her outstanding leadership and advocacy for an inclusive, flexible and diverse workforce culture within ACT Policing.

The ACT Community Protection Medal is awarded to employees and volunteers in the ACT’s emergency services in recognition of an individual’s sustained distinguished or outstanding service to the ACT community.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.