Stroke Foundation announces new President

Stroke Foundation is delighted to announce the appointment of Professor Linda Kristjanson AO as President and Chair of the Board.

Professor Kristjanson takes the helm from Professor James Angus AO, who served a six-year term in the role and officially stepped down at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, 5 May 2021.

Professor Kristjanson, who has a distinguished career in health, education and business, said she was delighted and excited to be granted the opportunity to serve as Stroke Foundation President.

“Stroke Foundation is known for its evidenced based approach, strong consumer engagement and its clear mission to prevent stroke, save lives and enhance recovery,” Professor Kristjanson said.

“I am wholeheartedly looking forward to being a strong ambassador and champion for Stroke Foundation.

“Like thousands of people in our community, my family has a personal connection to stroke. Stroke impacts too many lives, but it does not need to be that way.

“I would also like to acknowledge the leadership of Professor James Angus for his time as President, and for all that has been achieved during those years to advance treatment, care and support pathways for people with stroke and their loved ones,” she said.

Professor Kristjanson has served in many roles including most recently as Vice-Chancellor and President of Swinburne University of Technology from 2011 to 2020. She was named the 2002 Australian Telstra Business Woman of the Year in recognition of her entrepreneurial work in health and science and she was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours list. Professor Kristjanson is acknowledged for her distinguished service to tertiary education through leadership and governance roles, strategic and innovative university reforms, and contributions to cancer research, palliative care and to women.

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan welcomed the appointment of Professor Kristjanson, acknowledging her leadership and inspirational service to the Australian community.

“We are honoured to appoint Professor Kristjanson as our new President,” Ms McGowan said.

“Professor Kristjanson brings an abundance of energy, expertise and enthusiasm to the role. She is ambitious about our future and I look forward to working with her. It seems appropriate that this year, as we mark the 25th anniversary of Stroke Foundation, we have our first woman appointed to the office of President and Chair.”

Ms McGowan also recognised the outstanding contribution of former President Professor James (Jim) Angus and thanked him for his incredible and dedicated service.

“We have been so fortunate to be guided by Jim. He brought such passion, knowledge and expertise to the role. Stroke Foundation thrived under his leadership.

Prof Linda Kristjanson seated

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.