Territory’s brightest sports stars crowned

NT Government
Kate Worden

Minister for Sport

Media Release

Territory’s brightest sports stars crowned

2 April 2023

The Northern Territory’s sporting elite have been recognised for their efforts on and off the field at the 50th NT Sports Awards gala event.

Hockeyroo and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Jeremy Hayward claimed the coveted title of NT Sportsperson of the Year for the second time after he first won the award in 2015.

Mr Hayward achieved outstanding results on the international stage at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games and the award caps a stunning year for the hockey star.

The Darwin Salties were crowned NT Team of the Year after taking the Territory by storm in their debut season in the NBL1 competition.

The awards also recognised the contribution of volunteers to grass root sport and the work of volunteers and officials.

The winners were selected from a strong field of finalists which represented a variety of sports.

Five giants of NT sports were also recognised as a Pioneer of Sport at the awards ceremony.

The Pioneers awarded the prestigious honour were Ted Egan, Willie Allen (posthumously), Nick Boubaris, Rueben Cooper Senior (posthumously), Audrey Kennon and John Moriarty.

The award recognises Territorians who have made a significant and lasting impression both on and off the field.

The 50th anniversary of the awards also recognised the vital role of coaches, administrators and officials with the NT Roll of Honour.

NT Sports Awards 2023 Winners

NT Sportsperson of the Year – Jeremy Hayward (Hockey)NT Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Amy Stripling (Hockey)NT Masters Sportsperson of the Year – John Bermingham (Athletics)NT Team of the Year – Darwin Salties (Basketball)Eric Johnston Coach of the Year – Michael Rochford (Boxing)NT Official of the Year – Amy Butler (Basketball)NT Volunteer of the Year – Danila Lochrin (Equestrian/Rugby League) NT Local Performer of the Year – Ashley Chandrasinghe (Cricket)Karen Schneider Sports Medicine Australia Safer Sport Award – Sarah Polhill (Rugby Union)Steve Abala Role Model – Brooke Peris (Hockey)Roll of Honour – Nick Boubaris (Football)Roll of Honour – Jim Ford (Cricket)Roll of Honour – David Yeaman (Netball)Hall of Champions – Jan Palazzi (Lawn Bowls)

Quotes attributed to the Minister for Sport, Kate Worden:

“The Northern Territory has always been a breeding ground for talented sports people to develop and hone their skills before making a name for themselves on the national and international stage.

“The finalists and winners of this year’s NT Sports awards are no different. From Commonwealth Games medallists Jeremy Haywood and Brooke Peris to emerging Sheffield Shield batsman Ashley Chandrasinghe, NT athletes are making their mark amongst the elite.

“While sport offers the chance to reach the top, it plays significant part in bringing our communities together. Every weekend suburban sporting grounds across the NT are filled with participants playing the games they love.

“Congratulations to the winners and finalists for their efforts throughout 2022.”

Northern Territory Government

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.