Updates to Cross Border Travel Direction 29 March

Updates have been made to Cross Border Travel Directions in South Australia.

Cross Border Travel-General

The Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel No 42) (COVID-19) Direction 2021 has been revoked and replaced by the Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-General) (COVID-19) Direction 2021. This Direction came into effect at 4 pm on Monday 29 March 2021.

The changes:

-Introduces graduated levels of requirements to be undertaken by people arriving or have arrived in South Australia from specified locations as per an associated direction.


-Introduce restrictions in entering a high risk setting. This does not prevent a person from entering who is employed or engaged in the provision of emergency services in the event of an emergency (if they are entering a health facility or hospital they must inform the facility or hospital that they are coming from outside the State before they enter), or the person is entering for the purpose of medical treatment, or end of life support when death is imminent and they are wearing personal protective equipment.

-Defines a ‘high risk setting’ including a residential aged care facility (also defined), a prison, correctional facility, training centre or other palace of custody, and emergency dept, intensive care unit, respiratory ward or oncology in a private or public hospital, or a health care service in any Aboriginal community as listed in Schedule 1 of the direction, or any other Aboriginal community controlled by health service.

-Reintroduce permitted arrivals, being people genuinely relocating, South Australian residents returning and people escaping Domestic Violence.

-Reintroduce the ability for people to transit through the airport of a restricted zone without requiring them to comply with any restrictions placed on travellers from the restricted zone. The person must not leave the airport before boarding their onward flight.

-Reintroduce the ability for a person to travel through a restricted zone via the most direct and practicable route, and does not stop in the restricted zone except in an emergency or for respite or other essential purposes, and wears a face mask when in contact with the public and cannot maintain physical distancing.

-Permit a person who has completed 14 days supervised quarantine in a restricted zone to travel directly to the airport to travel onwards to South Australia.

Other existing requirements currently contained in the previous Cross Border Travel No 42 Direction are contained within this Direction. The information above only highlights the key changes made to the Direction and does not reflect all requirements. Members of the public are encouraged to read the full Direction and the following Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel – Associated Direction No 1) for further information.

Cross Border Travel-Associated Direction No 1

The Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-Associated Direction No 1) (COVID-19) Direction 2021 came into effect at 4 pm on Monday 29 March 2021.

This Direction acts as an appendix to the Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-General) (COVID-19) Direction 2021. It specifies the level of cross border requirements (as articulated in the Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-General) (COVID-19) Direction 2021) for overseas arrivals and Queensland arrivals as follows;

-Declares the following local government areas of the State of Queensland as a restricted zone;

o City of Brisbane

o City of Ipswich

o Logan City

o Moreton Bay Region

o Redland City

-All Overseas arrivals (except New Zealand arrivals) must comply with level 5 requirements

-All people who have been in the Queensland restricted zones anytime during the 14 days before their arrival

o If they arrive in South Australia on or after 20 March 2021 but before 5 pm 29 March 2021 – must comply with level 3 requirements

o If they arrive in South Australia after 5 pm on 29 March 2021 (other than permitted arrivals and essential travellers) – must comply with level 6 requirements

o If they arrive in South Australia and are a permitted arrival or essential traveller – must comply with level 4 requirements and essential travellers must also comply with clause 12 requirements.

All existing Directions, frequently asked questions and other information can be found here: https://www.covid-19.sa.gov.au/emergency-declarations

If you require further information you can call the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787 between the hours of 9am to 5pm 7 days per week or go to the SA Health website at www.sahealth.sa.gov.au or www.sa.gov.au/covid-19

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.