Wallabies Announce First Squad for Rugby World Cup Year Prep

Rugby Au

In naming a 33-man squad, Wallabies head coach Eddie Jones has likened his team's first training camp of the year to Formula One pre-season testing.

"Every pre-season testing in Formula One is a fresh start," said Jones. "New ideas, new cars, new drivers, new support staff. It's the same for us."

"This is a new squad, with new standards and new expectations for a new challenge. I hope the players who have this first chance understand the privilege, have their tyres pumped up and they're ready to go."

Jones has named six uncapped players in the group, including youngsters, Josh Flook, Carter Gordon and Max Jorgensen who have all been named in their first Wallabies squad.

Brumbies prop Blake Schoupp and Rebels backrower Brad Wilkin also find themselves in the national set up for the first time, while Melbourne hooker Jordan Uelese returns, having last been in the group in 2021.

Ryan Lonergan joins ACT teammate Nic White as one of two scrumhalves in the squad, with Queensland winger Suliasi Vunivalu also named in the group.

"It's no secret what I've been looking for," he said, "and in the players selected for this first camp they've delivered on work rate, effort and intent."

"What they haven't delivered on in Super Rugby is winning, particularly against New Zealand teams. Competitive doesn't cut it. We will build a winner's mindset in the Wallabies players, and we will win games. That will come from confidence and belief that comes through effort and sacrifice.

"I've said it a million times. We have the talent in Australia but not the team. This first camp and this first squad is the first step to building a winning team.

"This is not the squad for Rugby World Cup. It's the first squad for the first camp. If you are in it, the challenge is to stay in it. If you are not in it, how do you get in it? Players select themselves.

"Going to win a Bledisloe Cup and a Rugby World Cup with the Wallabies is a rare privilege in a player's career. Thousands try, few succeed.

"We saw a first-class game last night between the Brumbies and Waratahs with players really working hard for each other on both sides. It was encouraging. All I'll say is, let's see more of that and let's see it every week. No excuses. Make it impossible for me to leave you out."

Squad summary

Total Test caps: 733

Average Test caps: 22

Average age: 26

Uncapped players: 7

Most capped: James Slipper (127 Tests)

Youngest member: Max Jorgensen, 18

Oldest member: Cadeyrn Neville, 34

Wallabies camp squad (age, team, Tests played)

Allan Alaalatoa (29, ACT Brumbies, 64 Tests)

Ben Donaldson (23, NSW Waratahs, 2 Tests)

Pone Fa'amausili (26, Melbourne Rebels, 3 Tests)

Josh Flook (21, Queensland Reds, uncapped)

Lalakai Foketi (28, NSW Waratahs, 5 Tests)

Nick Frost (23, ACT Brumbies, 9 Tests)

Langi Gleeson (21, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Carter Gordon (22, Melbourne Rebels, uncapped)

Ned Hanigan (27, NSW Waratahs, 28 Tests)

Reece Hodge (28, Melbourne Rebels, 54 Tests)

Michael Hooper (31, NSW Waratahs, 124 Tests)

Jed Holloway (30, NSW Waratahs, 10 Tests)

Len Ikitau (24, ACT Brumbies, 26 Tests)

Max Jorgensen (18, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)

Andrew Kellaway (27, Melbourne Rebels, 21 Tests)

Lachlan Lonergan (23, ACT Brumbies, 8 Tests)

Ryan Lonergan (24, ACT Brumbies, uncapped)

Fraser McReight (24, Queensland Reds, 10 Tests)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (22, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Cadeyrn Neville (34, ACT Brumbies, 8 Tests)

Jordan Petaia (23, Queensland Reds, 25 Tests)

David Porecki (30, NSW Waratahs, 10 Tests)

Tom Robertson (28, Western Force, 31 Tests)

Pete Samu (31, ACT Brumbies, 32 Tests)

Blake Schoupp (23, ACT Brumbies, uncapped)

James Slipper (33, ACT Brumbies, 127 Tests)

Darcy Swain (25, ACT Brumbies, 17 Tests)

Jordan Uelese (26, Melbourne Rebels, 15 Tests)

Rob Valetini (24, ACT Brumbies, 30 Tests)

Suliasi Vunivalu (27, Queensland Reds, 1 Test)

Nic White (32, ACT Brumbies, 59 Tests)

Brad Wilkin (27, Melbourne Rebels, uncapped)

Tom Wright (26, ACT Brumbies, 23 Tests)

Rehab group

Angus Bell

Rob Leota

Taniela Tupou

Overseas based players to join via Zoom

Richie Arnold

Tom Banks (TBC)

Quade Cooper

Bernard Foley

Marika Koroibete

Samu Kerevi (TBC)

Will Skelton

Not considered for selection due to injury

Folau Fainga'a

Tom Lynagh

Alex Mafi

Hunter Paisami

Matt Philip

Izack Rodda

2023 eToro Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Fixtures

Wallabies v South Africa, 5:05pm SAST/1:05am AEST, Saturday 8 July at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Wallabies v Argentina, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 15 July at CommBank Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v New Zealand, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 29 July at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Wallabies v New Zealand, 2:35pm NZST/12:35pm AEST Saturday 5 August at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.