We’re having Ball

The Swan Hill Youth Ball is returning in 2022 – bigger and better than ever!

Swan Hill Rural City Council’s Youth Support Officer Will Burns said the Youth Ball is a local event organised by local young people, for young people.

“It’s great to see young people getting creative to encourage young people to connect in the community.

“The Youth Ball is coordinated from start to finish – by young people.

“They (young people) gain so much satisfaction from hosting these events, it gives them so much confidence,” Mr Burns said.

Novo Youth Council members will be leading this year’s event.

“The Youth Ball provides us with an opportunity to bring young people together, in our community, in an inclusive environment.

“It can be difficult for young people who aren’t members of sporting clubs or groups to engage with other young people, outside of School – we wanted to create an opportunity to get everyone together, in a really fun atmosphere,” Novo Youth Council member, Bridget Zucco said.

Bridget is encouraging local people aged between 16-18 years to come along.

“The Youth Ball is open to Years 10 – 12. However, if you’re not a current student and you are aged between 16 and 18 years, you are more than welcome to come along.

“This year our theme is red carpet – perhaps we’ll even throw in a celeb or two.

“So, grab your friends, wear whatever makes you feel ‘red carpet’ and be ready to enjoy night of fun,” Ms Zucco said.

Tickets will be available to purchase from YouthInc and from the front office of local secondary schools for $10.

This drug, alcohol and smoke free event is supported by Swan Hill NOVO Youth Council, FReeZA, Belgravia Leisure and Swan Hill Rural City Council.

Event details:

When: Friday, 2 September

Time: Doors open at 6:00pm – there will be no entry after 7:30pm

Where: Swan Hill Leisure Centre

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.