2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award longlist announced

Waverley Council

Waverley Council is delighted to announce the longlist for the 2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award.

The Nib is Waverley Council’s annual celebration of the most compelling research-based Australian literature and is awarded to nominated published works of any genre that best fulfill the criteria of quality of research, readability and value to the community. This year’s total prize offering is $28,500.

Finalists will each receive the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize (6 x $1,000) and will be eligible for the Nib People’s Choice Prize ($2,500) and the Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award ($20,000). Major prize winners will be announced at a public event on 16 November 2022. Mayor of Waverley, Paula Masselos, said The Nib’s longevity reflects the importance of the Award to the Waverley community, lovers of great stories, writers and the Australian publishing industry. “Established in 2002, the Nib is the only major literary prize of its kind in Australia and Waverley Council is thrilled to present this highly respected national Awards’ program,” Mayor Masselos said. “The Nib is one of the ways we nurture creativity and artistic expression in our community and I am delighted to congratulate this year’s longlisted authors.”

The 2022 Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award longlist is:

  • Currowan by Bronwyn Adcock (Black Inc Books)
  • Telling Tennant’s Story by Dean Ashenden (Black Inc Books)
  • Q Anon & On: A Short and Shocking History of Internet Conspiracy Cults by Van Badham (Hardie Grant Books)
  • Leaping into Waterfalls by Bernadette Brennan (Allen & Unwin)
/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.