2022 Premier’s Science Awards finalists announced

  • 29 of Western Australia’s outstanding scientists and science initiatives named finalists in 2022 Premier’s Science Awards
  • Six award categories, with a total prize pool of $100,000, including $50,000 prize for the Scientist of the Year
  • Winners will be announced at a ceremony at Optus Stadium on August 15, during National Science Week
  • Twenty-nine of Western Australia’s brightest scientists, STEM students and engagement programs have been named as finalists in the 2022 Premier’s Science Awards.

    This year’s finalists include a scientist researching the geological and environmental causes for mass extinction events, a professor internationally renowned for their work in artificial intelligence, and an award-winning astronomer who helped commission the Murchison Widefield Array.

    The 2022 Premier’s Science Awards categories include:

    • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize);
    • HBF Mid-Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize); and
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize).

    The winners of the 2022 Premier’s Science Awards and the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame inductee will be announced at an awards ceremony during National Science Week on Monday August 15, at Optus Stadium.

    Internationally recognised leader in the areas of fluid science, thermodynamics, and natural gas engineering, Professor Eric May was announced as Scientist of the Year in 2021.

    The Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Professor Peter Klinken AC, chaired the judging panels for this year’s awards.

    For more information on the 2022 Premier’s Science Awards, including the list of finalists, please visit https://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/scienceawards

    As stated by Premier Mark McGowan:

    “Congratulations to all 29 Premier’s Science Awards finalists for their outstanding achievements in improving the quality of life for so many, and helping cement Western Australia’s place as a world-leader in scientific research.

    “The finalists in this year’s awards are a reminder of the power of dedication and perseverance, and why it is important we continue to celebrate scientific achievements across the State.

    “These awards are key to the WA Government’s efforts to raise the profile of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, and developing the skills for the jobs of the future.”

    As stated by Science Minister Roger Cook:

    “The annual Premier’s Science Awards highlight the world-leading scientific capability in Western Australia, which underpins the development of new industries and diversification of our economy.

    “The achievements of the finalists in this year’s awards span across many disciplines and industries, and prove that scientific advancements and breakthroughs can come in many forms.

    “I would like to congratulate each and every finalist in this year’s awards, and thank you all for your contribution to science, technology, engineering and mathematics.”

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.