Appointments to Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

The Morrison Government has appointed Ms Anna Brakey and Mr Peter Crone as Commissioners of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) for five‑year periods from December 2020.

Ms Brakey has over 25 years of experience in regulatory economics and public policy, most notably with the New South Wales Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) where she held positions as a deputy Tribunal Member, the Executive Director of Strategy and Economic Analysis and the Chief Operating Officer. More recently, Ms Brakey has worked as an economist with Frontier Economics.

Mr Crone has 30 years of experience advising on economics, public policy and regulation at the highest levels of government and business in Australia. He has previously served as Chief Economist with Ernst and Young, the Coles Group and the Business Council of Australia.

The appointments of Ms Brakey and Mr Crone will further strengthen the ACCC’s capacity to promote competition and fair trade in markets for the benefit of consumers, small businesses and the community.

The Government also wishes to thank Ms Cristina Cifuentes for her significant contribution to the ACCC over the last seven years.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.