Canary Islands, Denmark, Maldives and Mykonos added to travel corridor exempt list

  • the Canary Islands, Mykonos, the Maldives and Denmark added to list of travel corridors for the UK, having been assessed by the Joint Biosecurity Centre as posing a lower infection risk from 4am on Sunday 25 October
  • Liechtenstein removed from list of travel corridors for the UK following data showing a significant increase in confirmed cases, with all passengers returning from Liechtenstein from 4am on Sunday 25 October required to self-isolate for 14 days
  • travellers urged to check the latest advice from the FCDO before travelling and will be required to fill in a passenger locator form before returning home

The Canary Islands, Mykonos, the Maldives and Denmark have been added to the government’s travel corridor list following a decrease in confirmed cases of coronavirus.

From 4am on Sunday 25 October, passengers arriving to the UK from these destinations will no longer need to self-isolate, so long as they haven’t been in or transited through any other non-exempt countries in the 14 days preceding their arrival.

People arriving into the UK from Liechtenstein from 4am Sunday 25 October will need to self-isolate for 2 weeks as the country is removed from the travel exemptions list.

Data from the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public Health England has indicated a significant change in both the level and pace of confirmed cases of coronavirus in Liechtenstein, leading to ministers removing the country from the current list of travel corridors.

A range of factors are taken into account when deciding to remove a country from the exemption list, including the continued increase of coronavirus within a country, the numbers of new cases, information on a country’s testing capacity, testing regime and test positivity rate, and potential trajectory of the disease in the coming weeks.

Data from Liechtenstein shows that the weekly incidence (cases) per 100,000 has increased from 65.1 on 14 October to 244.9 on 21 October. This equates to a 276% increase.

At the same time, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) has also updated its travel advice to advise against all but essential travel to Liechtenstein. The Canary Islands, Mykonos, the Maldives and Denmark are now exempt from the FCDO’s global advisory against non-essential travel. These changes reflect the latest assessments by Public Health England (PHE) of the risk to travellers in each of these destinations.

The government has made consistently clear it will take decisive action if necessary to contain the virus, including removing countries from the travel corridors list rapidly if the public health risk of people returning from a particular country without self-isolating becomes too high.

People currently in Liechtenstein are encouraged to follow the local rules and check the FCDO travel advice pages for

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.