Disaster Recovery Grants Extended To Small Businesses And Not-For-Profits

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Joint Media Release

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience

The Hon Paul Toole MP

New South Wales Deputy Premier, Minister for Regional New South Wales and Minister for Police

The Hon Steph Cooke MP

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience

The Hon Eleni Petinos MP

New South Wales Minister for Small Business and Minister for Fair Trading

Small businesses and not-for-profits can now apply for grants of up to $50,000 to help them recover from recent storm and flooding events in NSW.

These grants are now available in 59 local government areas and is being jointly funded by the Commonwealth and New South Wales governments under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

The Storm & Flood Small Business Disaster Recovery Grant is designed to help pay for costs of clean-up and reinstatement of a small business or not-for-profit organisation’s operations who suffered direct physical damage as a result of the severe storms and floods during November and December 2021.

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, said it was vital to provide support to help small business bounce back as quickly as possible.

“The Australian and NSW Governments are focused on giving small businesses and not-for-profits the tools they need to clean-up, rebuild and keep operating,” Senator McKenzie said.

“We will continue to work with the NSW Government to roll out targeted support for communities impacted by these devastating storms and floods.”

New South Wales Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional New South Wales Paul Toole said the Australian and NSW Governments are standing by the people of the regions.

“We know that small businesses are the lifeblood of regional communities and have borne the brunt of recent natural disasters,” Mr Toole said.

“We will continue to support them for as long as it takes to bounce back.”

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Steph Cooke urged communities to utilise the available support.

“These new grants of up to $50,000 complement a number of existing flood recovery supports for individuals, primary producers and local councils,” Ms Cooke said.

“Storm season will continue until March, so I am encouraging communities across our State to be vigilant to the ongoing threats in the short-term, and continue working with us in the long-term to build a more resilient NSW.”

New South Wales Minister for Small Business Eleni Petinos said the Government was committed to working closely with small businesses in their recovery.

“This immediate support will help to protect local economies while communities recover, keeping businesses open and people in jobs,” Ms Petinos said.

The grants are available in the 59 local government areas of: Balranald, Bathurst, Bega Valley, Blayney, Blue Mountains, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cobar, Coonamble, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Cowra, Dubbo, Eurobodalla, Federation, Forbes, Gilgandra, Glen Innes Severn, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Greater Hume, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Hilltops, Inverell, Kyogle, Lachlan, Lismore, Lithgow, Liverpool Plains, Lockhart, Mid-Western, Moree Plains, Muswellbrook, Narrabri, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Yass Valley, Upper Hunter, Upper Lachlan, Walcha, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin and Wentworth, and the Unincorporated Area.

To register interest for the grant and be notified when applications become available, visit www.service.nsw.gov.au or call 13 77 88.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.