FCO Change of British High Commissioner to Tonga

Miss Thorhilda Abbott-Watt OBE

Miss Thorhilda Abbott-Watt OBE has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Kingdom of Tonga, as we reopen our resident High Commission in Nukuʻalofa. She will succeed the current, non-resident High Commissioner, Ms Melanie Hopkins, who will remain British High Commissioner to the Republic of Fiji. Miss Abbott-Watt will take up her appointment during February 2020.


Full name: Thorhilda Mary Vivia Abbott-Watt

Partner: Reef Talbot Hogg

2016 to 2019 Ashgabat, Her Majesty’s Ambassador
2012 to 2015 FCO, Deputy/Acting Head, Projects Task Force
2010 to 2012 Ulaanbaatar, Her Majesty’s Ambassador
2010 Ministry of Defence, International Liaison
2009 to 2010 FCO, Finance Directorate
2008 to 2009 Ulaanbaatar, Her Majesty’s Ambassador
2008 UKTI, Acting Head, Strategy and Innovation Section
2007 to 2008 FCO, Migration Directorate
2006 to 2007 FCO, Afghanistan Group
2006 Kabul, Acting Head, Political /Military Section
2006 FCO, Conflict Issues Group
2003 to 2006 Yerevan, Her Majesty’s Ambassador
2001 to 2002 Dushanbe, Chargé d’Affaires
1999 to 2001 FCO, Head, Visa Policy Section, Joint Entry Clearance Unit
1998 to 1999 Belgrade, First Secretary – Political
1995 to 1998 Kiev, First Secretary – Head of Commercial Section
1991 to 1995 FCO, First Secretary – European Union (Internal) Department
1988 to 1991 Bonn, Second Secretary – Political
1986 to 1988 FCO, Second Secretary – Environment, Maritime, Aviation and Environment Department
1984 to 1986 Brussels, Third Secretary Political, UK Permanent Representation to the European Union
1981 to 1984 Paris, British Vice Consul & Entry Clearance Officer
1979 to 1980 Latin America Floater, Temporary duty in posts in Latin America & the Far & Middle East
1974 to 1979 FCO, Third Secretary
1974 Joined FCO
/Public Release. View in full here.