Four of Oxford’s leading scientists scoop Royal Society awards

Professors Dame Carol Robinson, Peter Holland, Alison Noble and Hagan Bayley have all been recognised for their exceptional and outstanding contributions to science in this year’s Royal Society premier medals and awards.

Professor Dame Carol Robinson DBE FMedSci FRS receives the Royal Medal for her pioneering work on structural biology improving the understanding of proteins, their interactions and functional regulation. The Royal Medals are made on behalf of the Queen each year. Awarded annually since 1825, Dame Carol Robinson joins the ranks of Fred Sanger, Francis Crick, and Mary Lyon.

Professor Peter Holland FRS receives the Darwin Medal for his work with many organisms and genes elucidating key aspects of how changes in the genome influence evolution of animal development.

Professor Alison Noble OBE FREng FRS receives the Gabor Medal for developing solutions to a number of key problems in biomedical image analysis and substantially advancing automatic extraction of clinically useful information from medical ultrasound scans.

Professor Hagan Bayley FRS receives the Royal Society Mullard Award for the invention of stochastic nanosensing, a generalized sequencing method for biopolymers which has delivered ultrarapid, distributable, wide-scale, ‘long-read’ genome sequencing.

About the Royal Society winners:

Carol RobinsonCarol Robinson

Dame Carol Robinson is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oxford

Awarded: Royal Medal

I am truly delighted to be acknowledged with this award.

During her early research Professor Robinson developed and applied mass spectrometry to show how protein folding could be monitored in the presence of molecular chaperones. This research prompted her to find new ways to preserve mega Dalton complexes in the gas phase and led her to uncover the heterogeneity and dynamics of numerous multi protein complexes. In recent work, she demonstrated the numerous roles played by lipids in regulating the structure and function of membrane protein assemblies.

Professor Robinson says: ‘Over the years, I have watched a number of Royal Society Medal Award ceremonies and have always been very impressed by the recipients. I am delighted to be joining this distinguished crowd.’